IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

India Vs Sri Lanka 2011 Cricket World Cup Final Match

India have had the advantage over Sri Lanka over the last few years, but in multi-team tournaments the Sri Lankans have proven to be the better team. In matches contested in the Asia Cup overall, Sri Lanka are only slightly ahead of India.

But in Asia Cup matches since 2000, they have been the more dominant side. India will definitely go into the game under pressure considering they have been outclassed in multi-team competitions, especially in the finals. Sri Lanka have won six finals against them since 2000 while India have won just one, when they triumphed in the Compaq Cup in 2009.

India and Sri Lanka have played 29 ODIs against each other over the last two-and-a-half years, but the clash on Thursday will have more significance than most of those matches, for they will be playing for the Asia Cup. India haven't won the tournament since 1994-95, while Sri Lanka triumphed in 2004 and in 2008. The home also team won the last group match on Tuesday, but India have dominated Sri Lanka recently, holding a 16-11 advantage since 2008, and an 8-5 edge in matches played in Sri Lanka during this period. The numbers were more even between 2000 and 2007, with Sri Lanka winning 14 and losing 15.

India v Sri Lanka in ODIs over the years Matches played India won Sri Lanka won
2000-2007 33 15 14
2008 onwards 29 16 11

India Vs Sri Lanka - One Day International Matches History

1. Total Matches Played - 128
2. Matches won by India - 67
3. Matches won by Sri Lanka - 50
4. Matches end in No Result - 11
5. First One Day match between India Vs Sri Lanka: June 16-18, 1979, Manchester. Sri Lanka won this match by 47 runs.
6. Last match between India Vs Sri Lanka: Tri series Final on August 28th, 2010 at Rangiri Dambulla
International Stadium, Dambulla. Sri Lanka won the match by 74 runs.

Overall Test Records (Since 1982)

S.NO Year Venue Total India Sri Lanka Drawn
1. 1982/83 India 1 - - 1
2. 1985 Sri Lanka 3 - 1 2
3. 1986/87 India 3 2 - 1
4. 1990/91 India 1 1 - -
5. 1993 Sri Lanka 3 1 - 2
6. 1993/94 India 3 3 - -
7. 1997 Sri Lanka 2 - - 2
8. 1997/98 India 3 - - 3
9. 1998/99 Asian Test Championship 1 - - 1
10. 2001 Sri Lanka 3 1 2 -
11. 2005/06 India 3 2 - 1
12 2008/09 Sri Lanka 3 1 2 -
13. 2009/10 India 3 2 0 1
14. 2010/11 Sri Lanka 3 1 1 1
Total 35 14 6 15
  • First match: Only Test at Chennai - Sep 17-22, 1982, Match drawn
  • Last match: 3rd Test at P Sara Oval, Colombo, Aug 03-07, 2010, India won by 5-wickets

Probable Teams for World Cup Final 2011 : India Vs Sri Lanka

1. Indian Team: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain / Wicket Keeper), Suresh Raina / Yousuf Pathan, Aswin Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Harbhan Singh and Munaf Patel.

2. Sri Lanka team: K Sangakkara, L Malinga, R Herath, A Mathews, A Mendis, M Muralitharan, T Dilshan, C Silva, T Samaraweera, U Tharanga, M Jayawardene.

Match Timing And Venue

The match will be played on 2nd April, 2011 and it is going to start at 14:30 p.m. IST. It is going to be a day night match. Cricket lovers in Sri Lanka can view the match from 5 a.m. local time. The venue of India vs Sri Lanka World Cup 2011 match is : Wankhede Stadium Mumbai.


You can get tickets from the Wankhede Stadium at various gates. Tickets can also be purchased online.

Umpires For 2011 World Cup

Taufel And Dar Named As Umpires For World Cup Final Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar have been chosen to umpire Saturday's ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 final between India and Sri Lanka. Australian Taufel, one of the game's most respected officials, is afforded his chance to officiate in the game's showpiece event following Australia's failure to qualify for the first time since 1992.

Similarly, Pakistan's exit at the semi-final stage gives Dar the chance to take charge while Englishman Ian Gould will take up third umpire duties with Australia's Steve Davis nominated as fourth umpire.

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations