IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup Trophy

It is again time for the mega sports event that takes place once in every 4 years. The 2011 cricket world Cup is all set to begin in just a few days. The event is scheduled to begin from the 19th February in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. All the three countries are absolute cricket buffs and the entire world is waiting with baited breadth for the event to kick off. The 2011 cricket world cup has 14 participating nations that are divided into two groups A and B. There are a total of 49 matches and the teams that win the maximum matches from both groups will enter the quarter finals. The world cup is a time when all the teams will play to their fullest potentials and give their best shot mainly for one thing and that is the Cricket World Cup Trophy.

The privilege of holding the Cricket World Cup Trophy is given to the winning team of the Cricket World Cup. The 2011 Cricket World Cup Trophy is 60 cm high and is made out of silver and gold. There is a golden globe which is held up three silver columns. The three columns represent stumps and bails which is a manifestation of the game of cricket. Exclusively designed and made with the utmost levels of artistry the world cup trophy is every cricketers dream. The weight of the trophy is approximately 11 kilograms and bears the names of the previous world cup winners adorned on it. Since the trophy is huge there is still ample space for at least another ten teams to figure in it.

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations