IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

World Cup Locations

The 2011 Cricket World Cup is approaching fast and cricket lovers all over the world are eagerly waiting to watch their favorite teams battle it out for the prized trophy. People who are coming to India for watching the matches are also interested to know the World Cup locations or venues. It is easy for them to make their travel itinerary accordingly as soon as they come to know about the locations.

The table given below includes all the world cup locations:

Venue City Capacity


M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai 50,000
Eden Gardens Kolkata 90,000
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium Nagpur 45,000
Feroz Shah Kotla New Delhi 48,000
Wankhede Stadium Mumbai 45,000
Sardar Patel Stadium Ahmedabad 50,000
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore 42,000
PCA Stadium Mohali Mohali 35,000


Muttiah Muralitharan International Stadium Kandy 35,000
R. Premadasa Stadium Colombo 35,000
Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium Hambantota 35,000


Sher-e-Bangla Stadium Dhaka 25,000
Chittagong Divisional Stadium Chittagong 20,000

All the Indian cricket grounds for the 2011 Cricket World Cup have been finalized previously. The stadiums of Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were finalized in the end of October 2009.

The International Cricket Council declared all the world cup locations on November 2, 2009 in Mumbai, during the Central Organizing Committee meeting. In Sri Lanka, two new stadiums have been built especially for the game's biggest event and they are situated in Hambantota and Kandy.

Quick information about the matches at different Cricket World Cup Venues


M.A. Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai)

Matches: England vs. South Africa (March 6), England vs. West Indies (March 17), New Zealand vs. Kenya (Feb. 20), India vs. West Indies (March 20).


Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai)

Matches: Final (April 2); Group stage: New Zealand vs. Sri Lanka (March 18), New Zealand vs. Canada (March 13)


Feroz Shah Kotla (New Delhi)

Matches: South Africa vs. West Indies (Feb. 24), West Indies vs. Netherlands (Feb. 28), Canada vs. Kenya (March 7), India vs. Netherlands (March 9).


PCA Stadium (Mohali)

Since: 1993
Matches: Semifinals (March 30); Group stage: South Africa vs. Netherlands (March 3), Ireland vs. West Indies (March 11).


Eden Gardens (Kolkata)

Matches: Ireland vs. South Africa (March 15), Ireland vs. Netherlands (March 18), Kenya vs. Zimbabwe (March 20).


Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium (Nagpur)

Matches: England vs. Netherlands (Feb. 22), Australia vs. New Zealand (Feb. 25), Canada vs. Zimbabwe (Feb. 28), India vs. South Africa (March 12).


Sardar Patel Stadium (Ahmedabad)

Matches: Quarterfinals (March 24); Group Matches: Australia vs. Zimbabwe (Feb. 21), New Zealand vs. Zimbabwe (March 4).


M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bangalore)

Matches: India vs. England (Feb. 27), England vs. Ireland (March 2), India vs. Ireland (March 6), Australia vs. Kenya (March 13), Australia vs. Canada (March 16).


R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Matches: Semifinals (March 29); Quarterfinals (March 26); Group matches: Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan (Feb. 26), Sri Lanka vs. Kenya (March 1), Pakistan vs. Canada (March 3), Australia vs. Sri Lanka (March 5), Australia vs. Pakistan (March 19).


Pallekele International Stadium (Kandy)

Matches: Pakistan vs. New Zealand (March 8), Sri Lanka vs. Zimbabwe (March 10), Pakistan vs. Zimbabwe (March 14).


Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium (Hambantota)

Matches: Sri Lanka vs. Canada (Feb. 20), Pakistan vs. Kenya (Feb. 23).


Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium (Dhaka)

Matches: Opening match Bangladesh vs. India (Feb. 19); Quarterfinals (March 23 and March 25); Group matches: Bangladesh vs. Ireland (Feb. 25), Bangladesh vs. West Indies (March 4), Bangladesh vs. South Africa (March 19).


Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (Chittagong)

Matches: Bangladesh vs. England (March 11), Bangladesh vs. Netherlands (March 14).

Last Updated on 23 March 2011

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations