IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup Group A Teams

It is again time for the mega sports event that simply takes the entire country and the world at large by storm. It is time for cricket world cup and the entire nation is waiting in jubilation.

Three of South Asia's most cricket crazy nations have been selected as the hosting nations namely India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. There are 14 participating teams that are divided into two groups; Group A and Group B.

Let us have a look at the teams under Group A

Group A


  • Ricky Ponting (capt)
  • Michael Clarke
  • Shane Watson
  • Brad Haddin
  • Cameron White
  • Callum Ferguson
  • David Hussey
  • Tim Paine
  • Steven Smith
  • John Hastings
  • Mitchell Johnson
  • Jason Krejza
  • Brett Lee
  • Doug Bollinger
  • Shaun Tait


  • Shahid Afridi (Captain)
  • Misbah-ul-Haq (Vice-Captain)
  • Muhammad Hafeez
  • Kamran Akmal
  • Younis Khan
  • Asad Shafiq
  • Umer Akmal
  • Abdul Razzaq
  • Abdul Rehman
  • Saeed Ajmal
  • Shoaib Akhtar
  • Umer Gul
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Junaid Khan
  • Ahmed Shehzad

New Zealand

  • Daniel Vettori
  • Hamish Bennett
  • James Franklin
  • Martin Guptill
  • Jamie How
  • Brendon McCullum
  • Nathan McCullum
  • Kyle Mills
  • Jacob Oram
  • Jesse Ryder
  • Tim Southee
  • Scott Styris
  • Ross Taylor
  • Kane Williamson
  • Luke Woodcock

Sri Lanka

  • Kumar Sangakkara (captain)
  • Mahela Jayawardene (vice-captain)
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan
  • Upul Tharanga
  • Thilan Samaraweera
  • Chamara Silva
  • Chamara Kapugedera
  • Angelo Mathews
  • Thisara Perera
  • Nuwan Kulasekara
  • Lasith Malinga
  • Dilhara Fernando
  • Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Ajantha Mendis
  • Rangana Herath


  • Elton Chigumbura (captain)
  • Regis Chakabva
  • Charles Coventry
  • Graeme Cremer
  • Craig Ervine
  • Sean Ervine
  • Gregory Lamb
  • Shingirai Masakadza
  • Christopher Mpofu
  • Raymond Price
  • Edward Rainsford
  • Tatenda Taibu
  • Brendan Taylor
  • Prosper Utseya
  • Sean Williams


  • Ashish Bagai (captain)
  • Rizwan Cheema (vice-captain)
  • Harvir Baidwan
  • Khurram Chohan
  • Ruvindu Gunaskera
  • John Davison
  • Hiral Patel
  • Nitish Kumar
  • Parth Desai
  • Tyson Gordon
  • Amarbir Hansra
  • Henry Osinde
  • Balaji Rao
  • Zubin Surkari
  • Karl


  • Jimmy Kamande (captain)
  • Seren Waters
  • Alex Obanda
  • Elijah Otieno
  • Rakep Patel
  • David Obuya
  • Collins Obuya
  • Steve Tikolo
  • Tamnay Mishra
  • Maurice Ouma
  • Nehemiah Odhiambo
  • Thomas Odoyo
  • Shem Ngoche
  • James Ngoche
  • Peter Ongondo

  • Last Updated on 01 April 2011

      Related Links  


    Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
    Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
    Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

    EU GDPR Update:
    MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
    We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations