IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

Pallekele Cricket Stadium Kandy

Pallekele Cricket Stadium Kandy or Muttiah Muralitharan International Cricket Stadium is the newest entry in the international cricket grounds in Sri Lanka. Earlier the stadium was known as Pallekele Cricket Stadium, but recently it is renamed as Muttiah Muralitharan International Cricket Stadium, in order to honor the legendary all rounder of Sri Lankan National Cricket Team.

The stadium was established in the year of 2009. It can accommodate 35000 spectators in the ground during a match. The stadium is owned and operated by Sri Lanka Cricket.

The stadium is meant for one day internationals and for this reason, no significant test match history is recorded on this ground. The cricket play ground is the host to the Kandurata and Central Province Cricket team of Sri Lanka.

Click to View Pallekele Stadium Location Map
Pallekele Cricket Stadium Location Map

There are two ends in this stadium

Hunnasgiriya End and Rikillagaskada End. The stadium is fully equipped with floodlights. The main curator of the stadium is Asitha Wijesinghe.

World cup 2011 in Pallekele Cricket Stadium

One match was played on Pallekele Cricket Stadium Kandy so far between West Indies and Sri Lanka on December 1, 2010.

Pallekele Cricket Stadium Kandy is one of the main venues of world cup 2011 in Sri Lanka, since Sri Lanka is playing host to this grand cricketing event. It will host three group matches of Group A. The details are given below:
  • 8 March- Between Pakistan Vs New Zealand at 14.30
  • 10 March- between Sri Lanka Vs Zimbabwe at 14.30
  • 14 March- between Pakistan Zimbabwe at 14.30


Pallekele Cricket Stadium Location Map
Pallekele Cricket Stadium Location Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Location of Pallekele Cricket Stadium.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.


Get the Direction to Pallekele Cricket Stadium

From:    To: 

Directions to be TakenMap

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links