Track Your Constituency

Amethi Parliamentary Constituency Map and Election Results

Amethi Parliamentary Constituency Map

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Amethi Parliamentary Constituency Map
Print Email Save  Buy Now 
*Map of Amethi Parliamentary Constituency Disclaimer

General Election Candidate List 2019
PartyConstituencyCandidate Name
INCAmethiRahul Gandhi
BJPAmethiSmriti Irani

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)
Uttar Pradesh11/Apr18/Apr23/Apr29/Apr06/May12/May19/May
Amethi Election Result Analysis

As the people's mandate together resonated around a dwindling presence of the Congress in the general elections 2014, one of the star constituencies this election season was the Congress bastion of Rahul Gandhi. Gandhi, the Congress Vice-President, remained the sitting member of Parliament from Amethi for the last decade, before which his mother, Congress President Sonia Gandhi represented this seat.

Even more significant is the fact that Rahul's father and former Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi represented Amethi for more than a decade, beginning in the 1980s. In other words therefore, in the democratic setup that independent India presented, Amethi has been a symbolism of the Gandhi dynastic lineage. Yet this seat came under severe threat while the counting of votes for the 2014 general elections was underway.

Gandhi won the Amethi seat (408651 votes) defeating his closest rival Smriti Irani (300748 votes) of the BJP by only a vote margin of 1.07 lakh votes. Rahul Gandhi was trailing behind Irani during the initial rounds of counting, before he thrust back and finally won the seat. Analysing the trend of voting that this Congress-stronghold presented, one must begin to ask some serious questions beyond the narrow narrative of Rahul Gandhi's victory from Amethi.

The reason behind Congress apprehension and fear in winning Amethi

Amethi and Congress have been synonymous in the history of independent India.

Yet, the surging Modi wave which hit every nook and corner of the country, also very evidently, hit the Congress hard. People's disgust with the Congress governance and their mastery in corruption at every level, went hand in hand with the Modi euphoria. The most populous state of Uttar Pradesh, of which Amethi is a part, handed BJP its mandate in 71 out of the 80 constituencies. In the 2009 elections, the BJP-led NDA had managed a mere 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh. This growing faith that people have attested in Modi is simultaneous with the faith people lost in the Congress. The Congress performance in Amethi, their star constituency, was thus sure to take a backseat.

The main issues in Amethi as echoed by the populace there are the lack of development in this Congress bastion, since independence-the lack of proper roads and safe drinking water, deplorable housing conditions, zero infrastructural facilities in education and health in this constituency, even though the Congress claims to hold it as high priority. Rahul Gandhi's win from Amethi this time, by a margin so sleek, is really not a win for the Congress as a whole; it is, in some senses, an insult to the Congress Vice-President's appeal of votes on grounds of dynastic legacy. Thus, the fierce fight that BJP candidate Smriti Irani put up, does not come as a surprise. In a constituency where Congress win by the largest vote margins, has traditionally been seen as inevitable, the Amethi results have only necessitated the need for deep introspection within the Congress.

What do the numbers indicate?

As per the reports of the Election Commission of India, the high-profile constituency of Amethi registered extremely low voter-turnouts. The average voter turnout in UP was 58.29 %, which in itself was very low, compared to the average voter turnout percentage in the rest of the country. What is even more shocking is the voter turnout percentage in the high-profile constituency of Amethi.

td>SwaminathIndependent5537 Gopal Swaroop GandhiKisan Majdoor Berojgar Sangh5467 TulsiramIndependent4884 Mohd Hasan LahriQaumi Ekta Dal4457 Chhaya SinghAll India Trinamool Congress4109 UmakantIndependent3305 Lal BahadurIndependent2845 Mithilesh KumariIndependent2726 VasdeoCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star2546 Girija BaksIndependent2454 Ram SajiwanIndependent2384 Dwarika PrasadIndependent2345 Shiv KumarIndependent2289 Jitendra SinghIndependent2201 Ramsiddh YadavManavtawadi Samaj Party2189 C L MauryaPragatisheel Samaj Party1871 Radhe MohanSanatan Sanskriti Raksha Dal1753 Babu LalBahujan Mukti Party1617 Ram AsreyRashtriya Manav samman Party1572 Zahida BegamPeace Party1387 Gangesh Kumar GuptaIndependent1307 Bhagwan DeenIndependent1299 Naresh Singh BhadauriyaIndependent1255 Sonam KinnarIndependent1252 Ram NewajPragatisheel Manav Samaj Party1140 Ravi KumarMost Backward Classes Of India1064 Jagat Singh ChaudharyIndependent1043 Sanjay KumarIndependent1015 None of the AboveNone of the Above1784

Amethi Parliamentary Constituency (Lok Sabha) Results

List of Winning MP and Runner up from 1967 to till date from Amethi Lok Sabha Constituency

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerSexPartyVotesRunner UpSexPartyVotes
196724AmethiGENV. D. BajpaiMINC63231G. PrasadMBJS59566
197124AmethiGENVidya Dhar BajpaiMINC96312Gokul Prasad PathakMBJS21335
197725AmethiGENRavindra Pratap SinghMBLD176410Sanjay GandhiMINC100566
198025AmethiGENSanjay GandhiMINC(I)186990Ravindra Pratap SinghMJNP58445
1981 (By Polls)25AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC(I)258884S.YadavMLKD21188
198425AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC365041Maneka GandhiFIND50163
198925AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC271407Raj Mohan GandhiMJD69269
199125AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC187138Ravindra PratapMBJP75053
1991 (By Polls)25AmethiGENC. S. K. SharmaMINC178996M.M.SinghMBJP79687
199625AmethiGENSatish SharmaMINC157868Raja Mohan SinghMBJP117725
199825AmethiGENSanjay SinghMBJP205025Captain Satish SharmaMINC181755
199925AmethiGENSonia GandhiFINC418960Dr. Sanjai SinghMBJP118948
200421AmethiGENRahul GandhiMINC390179Chandra Parkash Mishra MatiyariMBSP99326
200937AmethiGENRahul GandhiMINC464195Asheesh ShuklaMBSP93997
201437AmethiGENRahul GandhiMINC408651Smriti Zubin IraniFBJP300748

Assembly Constituencies in Amethi Parliamentary Constituency
TiloiSalon (SC)Jagdishpur (SC)

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Uttar Pradesh  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
13Gautam Buddha Nagar53Barabanki
15Aligarh55Ambedkar Nagar
19Fatehpur Sikri59Gonda
22Etah62Sant Kabir Nagar
25Bareilly65Kushi Nagar
36Rae Bareli76Chandauli

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.