Track Your Constituency

Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency Map and Election Results

Map of Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency

separator Customized Maps arrow custom map
Map of Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency
Print Email Save   Buy Now 
*Map of Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency. Disclaimer
Lucknow General Election 2014 Results Analysis

The Congress candidate fielded from the historic seat of Lucknow, Rita Joshi, was confident of winning the election of 2014. Her reasoning ran this: She was a local candidate who the people knew well, whereas Rajnath Singh was an outsider whose only claim to fame was jumping constituencies every now and then.
Now, however, Joshi is having to eat the humble pie. Rajnath Singh, the BJP president, has not only won from the Lucknow seat, but has done so by the highest-ever margin. In a contest that many thought would be close, Singh has scored a victory by over 2.72 lakh votes. In total, he received about 5.61 lakh votes while Rita Joshi had to be content with 2.88 lakh votes.

It's interesting to note the pattern and forces that helped this landslide victory.

What helped Rajnath Singh win from Lucknow

The two most important factors that resulted in this BJP victory were th pro-Modi and anti-Congress sentiment. Uttar Pradesh received special attention of the BJP, and the result has been a rout on 73 of the 80 seats. While there's no doubt that Joshi enjoys popularity as a local candidate, this time the issues of development and good governance were predominant in people's mind. Moreover, the scam-ridden Congress government had little chance of appeasing the voter.

A more subtle factor, however, lies in Lucknow's history. This was the constituency from where Atal Bihari Vajpayee was elected MP in 1998. Vajpayee has been the most popular BJP Prime Minister, and at a time when development and strong governance are critical, the memories of those days must have played an important role. It is worth mentioning that Singh managed to surpass Vajpayee's record also in term of victory margin.

Finally, the Aam Aadmi Party's experiment in the form of Javed Jaffery failed miserably. People could not connect to him as a political leader, and as a result he had to contend with merely 41,000 votes.

Lucknow General Election Result 2014

Raj Nath SinghBharatiya Janata Party561106
Prof. Rita Bahuguna JoshiIndian National Congress288357
Nakul DubeyBahujan Samaj Party64449
Abhishek MisraSamajwadi Party56771
Syed Javed Ahmed JafriAam Aadmi Party41429
Suman VermaBhartiya Shakti Chetna Party1901
Mohd. Sarwar MalikAll India Trinamool Congress1486
Sanjeev Mehrotra Alias Pikku BhaiBahujan Kranti Party (Marxwad-Ambedkarwad)1174
Syed Ali HusainIndependent1100
Asok PandeIndependent930
Shishu Pal YadavRashtriya Viklang Party851
Sunil SinghLok Dal849
Tara PatkarSwarajya Party Of India743
Subhash Chandra LehriIndependent719
Hari Ram Alias Haribhai PatelSamyak Parivartan Party694
Padam Chandra GuptaIndependent661
Shailendra Singh YadavIndependent607
Vijay Bahadur SinghManavtawadi Samaj Party575
Manoj SinghIndependent572
Radha KrishnanUttar Pradesh Republican Party542
Raj Kumar SinghNational Youth Party523
Ramphal RawatBharatiya Nav Kranti Party502
Nand Kumar Lodhi RajpootRashtriya Krantikari Samajwadi Party445
Vinay Prakash MishraIndependent441
Rajeev Ranjan Tiwari Alias Raj BehariIndependent391
Adarsh ShastriIndependent389
Rabi DubeyNagrik Ekta Party361
Yogesh Chandra BhattIndependent337
Ghanshyam SinghIndependent282
None of the AboveNone of the Above4596

Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency (Lok Sabha) Results

Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency Election 2014 Dates

  • Issue of Notification: 2 April (Wednesday)
  • Last Date for filing Nominations: 9 April (Wednesday)
  • Scrutiny of Nominations: 10 April (Thursday)
  • Last date for withdrawal of Candidature: 12 April (Saturday)
  • Polling Date: 30 April (Wednesday)
  • Counting of Votes: 16 May (Friday)
  • Date before which the election shall be Completed: 28 May (Wednesday)

List of Winning MP and Runner up from 1957 to till date from Lucknow Lok Sabha Constituency

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerSexPartyVotesRunner UpSexPartyVotes
195765LucknowGENPulin Behari Banerji MINC69519Atal Bihari VajpayeeMBJS57034
196221LucknowGENB. K. DhaonMINC116637Atal Bihari VajpayeeMJS86620
196719LucknowGENA. N. MullaMIND92535V. R. Mohan MINC71563
197119LucknowGENSheela KaulMINC171019Purshottam Das KapoorMBJS51818
197720LucknowGENHemwati Nandan BahugunaMBLD242362Sheila KaulFINC77017
198020LucknowGENSheila KaulMINC(I)123231Mahmood ButtMJNP92849
198420LucknowGENSheila KaulFINC169260Mohd. Yunus SaleemMLKD47140
198920LucknowGENMandhata SinghMJD110433DaujiMINC95137
199120LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP194886Ranjeet SinghMINC77583
199620LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP394865Raj BabbarMSP276194
199820LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP431738Muzaffar AliMSP215475
199920LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP362709Dr Karan SinghMINC239085
200416LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP324714Madhu GuptaMSP106339
200935LucknowGENLal Ji TandonMBJP204028Rita Bahuguna JoshiFINC163127

Assembly Constituencies in Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency
Lucknow WestLucknow NorthLucknow East
Lucknow CentralLucknow Cantonment

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Uttar Pradesh  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
13Gautam Buddha Nagar53Barabanki
15Aligarh55Ambedkar Nagar
19Fatehpur Sikri59Gonda
22Etah62Sant Kabir Nagar
25Bareilly65Kushi Nagar
36Rae Bareli76Chandauli

Last Updated on : May 27, 2014



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations