1930 Commonwealth Games

The 1930 Commonwealth Games were known as the British Empire Games at that time. Hamilton city of Canada hosted the 1930 Commonwealth Games with great pomp and glory. These games lasted from 16 August 1930 to 23 August 1930. The inaugural ceremony of the first British Empire Games was conducted in the spacious Civic Stadium, which is nowadays known as Ivor Wynne Stadium located in east Hamilton..

The different events that took place included swimming, wrestling among other sports. The athletes stayed in the Prince of Wales School close to the Civic Stadium during course of the event.

The 1930 Commonwealth Games or 1930 British Empire Games saw the participation of 11 countries. Approximately 400 athletes took part in the game events. The swimming events were meant for women only during the Hamilton Games. The names of the participating countries are:
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Wales
  • South Africa
  • Newfoundland
  • Australia
  • British Guiana
  • England
  • New Zealand
The major sports events in 1930 Commonwealth Games were:
  • Boxing
  • Lawn Bowls
  • Swimming
  • Wrestling
  • Athletics
  • Rowing
Medals won by the participating countries:

Out of all the competing countries England won the highest number of medals - 25 gold, 23 silver and 13 bronze. Canada stood at the second position with 64 medals including 20 gold, 15 silver and 19 bronze. South Africa was at the third position with 6 gold, 4 silver and 7 bronze.

The athletic event (100 yards) men's event was won by Percy Williams from Canada. 880 yards was won by Tommy Hampson of England. 100 yd freestyle was own by Joyce Cooper from England.

Last Updated on : 4 October 2010