Election Commission of India

Founded in 1950, the Election Commission of India is a Constitutional Body. The Commission is responsible for monitoring the whole process of election in India. It has been entrusted with the task of conducting fair and free poll in Parliament as well as in State Legislature. The Commission is headed by Chief Election Commissioner and also consists of 2 Election Commissioners assisting the former.

The President of India has the power of appointing the Chief Election Commissioner as well as Election Commissioners. The Chief Commissioner can only be removed from his post if the Parliament of India charges him with any offence. They are supposed to serve the country for a time span of six years. Shri B.B Tandon is the present Chief Election Commissioner of India.

The main office of Election Commission of India is at New Delhi. The office consists of around 300 officials working under the Commission. The senior officers holding various important posts in the Commission are selected from the civil service of India. The Election Commission of India comprises several branches and divisions. The main sections of the Election Commission are Judicial, Planning, Administration, Media and Secretariat Co-ordination and Information Systems. The Commission has made separate divisions for the convenience of proper administration and distribution of work.

All the state level elections are supervised by an officer selected by the Commission. In the districts, the election is controlled by Electoral Registration Officers, Returning Officers and District Election Officers. These officers are generally helped by few personnel for successfully conducting the poll. The Election Commission - India involves a huge force for conducting the poll throughout India.

The Commission holds talks with several political parties regarding elections in India. Meetings are held to inform the leaders about the new measures taken for the forthcoming election. The Election Commission has the power of disqualifying a candidate if he fails to produce his list of election expenses in time.

It also issues authority letters to the media persons for entering polling stations. At the time of election, the Commission holds briefings for the electronic as well as print media on a regular basis. In recent years, it has taken several steps for improving the election scenario in the country. Some of these are:

  1. Simplifying the process of election
  2. Offering identity cards to the voters
  3. Strict measures are taken against any offensive activities of the political leaders
  4. Computerization of the whole procedure and others

The contact details of the Election Commission of India are as follows:

Nirvachan Sadan,
Ashoka Road,
New Delhi-110001
Tel: 011-23717391
Fax: 011-23713412

Last Updated on 28 September 2012



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations