Lok Sabha

The lower House of the Indian Parliament is known as Lok Sabha. The members of Lok Sabha are the straight representatives of the people of India. The Lok Sabha members are elected by the Indian citizens. The maximum number of members in Lok Sabha is 552. Out of the total 552 members, 530 members symbolize the states of India, two members are from the Anglo Indian Community and 20 members represent the Union Territories.

The Speaker of Lok Sabha India is Shri Somnath Chatterjee and the Deputy Speaker is Shri Charnjit Singh Atwal. According to the Indian Constitution of the year 1950, Lok Sabha is elected for a term of five years. In May, 2004, the fourteenth Lok Sabha was formed and it is to remain in power till the next Elections.

The qualifications to become a Lok Sabha India member are as follows:

  1. The candidate must be a citizen of India
  2. The member should have at least 25 years of age
  3. He/She should not be a bankrupt
  4. He/She should be mentally fit
  5. For the reserved Lok Sabha seats the candidate should be a scheduled caste/scheduled tribe member
  6. The candidate should state an affidavit that there are no criminal procedures against him/her
The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is elected by the Lok Sabha members. The Lok Sabha Speaker has various duties to perform. The Speaker of the India Lok Sabha ensures that the conduct of the House is proper and discipline is maintained. If the Speaker is absent in any of the Lok Sabha proceedings then the Deputy Lok Sabha Speaker presides over the House.

On a regular Lok Sabha proceedings day, the House holds its sessions from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and then again from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. The Question Hour is the first sitting of Lok Sabha. Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha share legislative powers. The Lok Sabha has the decisive power in the area of Money Bills. There are three sessions of India Lok Sabha in a year. They are as follows:
  1. From the month of February to the month of May there is the Budget Session
  2. From the month of July to September there is the Monsoon Session
  3. From November to December the Winter Session of Lok Sabha is held.
To know more about Lok Sabha, the following link can be used:
Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations