Legislative Bodies in India

The Legislative bodies in India form a part of the Indian democratic framework. The legislatures are headed by a number of Presiding Officers. The current Chairman of the Conference of the Presiding Officers is Honorable Shri Somnath Chatterjee.

The Legislative bodies in India are also known by their more common name: Parliament. The Legislature has members who are democratically elected by the Indian election process. The members of the Indian Legislative bodies debate and vote on the bills that are placed before the house. There are two Union Legislative bodies in India, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. Rajya Sabha is the Council of States. Lok Sabha is the House of the People.

The names of State legislatures are mentioned below:

  1. Delhi Vidhan Sabha
  2. Bihar Vidhan Sabha
  3. Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha
  4. Haryana Vidhan Sabha
  5. Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha
  6. Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha
  7. Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha
  8. Punjab Vidhan Sabha
  9. Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha
  10. Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha
  11. Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Parishad
  12. Bihar Vidhan Parishad
  13. Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council
  14. Karnataka Legislative Council
  15. Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council
  16. Maharashtra Legislative Council
  17. Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
  18. Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly
  19. Gujarat Legislative Assembly
  20. Goa Legislative Assembly
  21. Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly
  22. Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  23. Assam Legislative Assembly
  24. Kerala Legislative Assembly
  25. Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly
  26. West Bengal Legislative Assembly
  27. Orissa Legislative Assembly
  28. Sikkim Legislative Assembly
  29. Manipur Legislative Assembly
  30. Tripura Legislative Assembly
  31. Nagaland Legislative Assembly
  32. Mizoram Legislative Assembly
  33. Meghalaya Legislative Assembly
  34. Puducherry Legislative Assembly
  35. Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly
  36. Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations