Independent Offices of Government of India

The Government of India consists of several independent offices forming an integral part of the administration of India. The independent offices were set up to develop and improve various sectors of the country. The apex / independent offices of Government of India are as follows:

  1. Planning Commission
  2. Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI)
  3. Central Information Commission
  4. Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)
  5. Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG)
  6. Election Commission of India
  7. National Commission for Women (NCW)
  8. Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)
  9. Accountant General, Maharashtra
  10. National Commission on Population
  11. National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
  12. Office of the Principal Scientific Adviser
  13. Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)

The Planning Commission of India, one of the most important independent offices of the country, was set up in 1950. It was established for monitoring proper utilization of the resources of India, increasing employment opportunities and other purposes. The Commission handles all the matters related to the balanced consumption of country's resources. The first Chairman of the Commission was Shri Jawaharlal Nehru.

The Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), another important independent office of Government of India, is responsible for investigating cases related to corruption, murder, bribery and other severe crimes. It rapidly grew into a national investigative body with the help of its founder Shri. D.P. Kohli. Currently, the department has 2 divisions namely, Special Crimes Division and Anti- Corruption Division.

The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India was founded for developing the telecommunication in India so that it can emerge as a leader in the international information society. It has created many mandates and schemes for providing quality service to the people.

For further information on Apex / Independent Offices of Government of India log onto:

Last Updated on 28 September 2012



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations