National Commission for Women

National Commission for Women is a statutory body and was established in the country of India in the year 1992, in the month of January. The National Commission for Women, India was set up in accordance with the National Commission for Women Act, 1990. The chief objective behind the setting up of the Commission is to improve the condition of the women as well as to work towards the economic empowerment of the female residents of India.

The National Commission for Women has paid visit to almost all the 29 states as well as the Union Territories of India, except for Lakshdweep. The Commission makes it a point to provide justice to those affected women who need help immediately.

Some of the significant achievements of the National Commission for Women include the Parivarik Mahila Lok Adalats, the PNDT Act 1994, the Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961, the National Commission for Women Act, 1990 and the Indian Penal Code 1860. The Commission also arranges several workshops and meetings regarding the gender awareness among the Indian citizens as well as against increasing cases of female foeticide.

Some of the basic postulates of the National Commission for Women in India include the following:

  • To review the legal and the Constitutional precautions for women
  • To advise the Government on various policy matters that affect the women citizens
  • To facilitate the redress of the grievances
  • To recommend various remedial and legislative measures

The Commission comprised of specific cells each of which addresses an important issue related to the women of India. Such cells are:

  1. Legal cell
  2. Public Relations cell
  3. Complaints and Counseling cell
  4. Research and Studies cell

The National Commission for Women or NCW formulates plans and policies for making the women aware of their rights. This is done by the Commission through various strategies. Some of these strategies are as follows:

  1. Improving the condition of underprivileged women
  2. Economic empowerment of the females of India
  3. Stopping the offensive depiction of women
  4. Checking the incidents of discrimination and violence against women

The contact address of the Commission is:

National Commission for Women
4, Deen Dayal Upadhayaya Marg,
New Delhi -110 002
Phone: 91-11-23237166/91-11-23236988
Fax: 91-11-23236154
Complaints Cell:91-11-23219750

Last Updated on 28 September 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations