Duties & powers of the President of India

There are some fixed Duties & powers of the President of India which he has to execute for the welfare of the country. These duties & powers are conferred upon the President to preserve, protect and defend the Indian Constitution.

The Indian President has to appoint the Prime Minister of India. The President also appoints the Council of Ministers and with the Prime Minister's advice he/she distributes the portfolios to the Council of Ministers. The President is also accountable to make a wide range of appointments.

The President of India has Executive, Judicial and Legislative powers. Some of the Executive powers of the Indian President are:
  • The Indian President can award a person or decrease the verdict of an offended person, chiefly in cases concerning punishment of death.
  • The president can assign governors of States, Attorney General, Chief Justice, Chief Election Commissioner, Ambassadors and High Commissioners to other countries
  • The President is also the chief of the Indian Armed Forces

The India President is capable with legislative powers such as:
  • He/ She commands both the Houses of the Parliament and also can postpone the same
  • A bill passed by the parliament becomes a law only when it is passed by the President
  • The President can dissolve the Lok Sabha
  • If it becomes necessary to have a law then the President can promote ordinances when the parliament is not in session.

The President of India has Executive, Judicial and Legislative powers. Some of the Executive powers of the Indian President are:
  • State Emergency: It is declared when there is failure of constitutional machinery in the state
  • National Emergency: It can be declared at the time of war, armed rebellion or external aggression
  • Financial Emergency: It can be declared if the Indian President gets the belief that the financial stability of the country is threatened.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations