Prime Minister's Office

The Prime Minister's Office is located in the capital city of New Delhi in India. Prime Minister works through the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) and is the head of the Council of Ministers comprising himself, Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State with Independent Charge, Ministers of State who work with Cabinet Ministers, and Deputy Ministers.

Since India follows the Westminster model of constitutional democracy, the Prime Minister's Office is of crucial importance as it is the Prime Minister who oversees the day-to-day functioning of the Union (Federal) Government of India.

The Prime Minister's Office is situated at the Raisina Hills with the South Block being one of the two secretariat blocks that surround the Rashtrapati Bhavana.

The Prime Minister's Office is popularly referred to as the PMO and its chief purpose is to offer assistance to the President of the nation. Under Article 78 of the Constitution, it is the duty of the Prime Minister to communicate all decisions of the Council of Ministers and the Cabinet and all proposals for legislation to the President. There is also an anti-corruption cell at the PMO, which deals with the detection and eradication of various types of corruption in the country. The that cell deals with the complaints and grievances, is also headed by the Prime Minister.

The PMO receives only those policy issues which are deemed important by the concerned Minister and submitted to the Prime Minister. The PMO also receives all significant files related to the Planning Commission. This is due to the fact that the Prime Minister is the Chairman of the Planning Commission of India. The two other most important areas that are taken care of by the Office of the Prime Minister are National Defence Fund and the Prime Minister's National Relief Fund.

The first Prime Minister to hold the Prime Minister's Office was Jawaharlal Nehru, who took the oath of office on 15th of August, 1947. The present Prime Minister of India is Narendra Modi, who was appointed for the post on 26th of May 2014. A total of 15 Prime Ministers have assumed the Prime Minister's Office since Independence, to date.

The address of the Prime Minister's Office is as follows:

South Block,
Raisina Hill,
New Delhi,
110 011
Phone: 91-11-23012312.
Fax: 91-11-23019545 / 91-11-23016857

Last Updated on : July 14, 2014



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations