Federal System of India

Federal System of India is governed in terms of the Constitution of India. The country of India is also referred to as the Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic and has a Parliamentary form of government. The nation is basically a Union of 29 states and 7 Union Territories that works according to the Indian Constitution, which was adopted on the 16th of November 1949.

In the Federal System of India, the head of the Executive Union is the President of the country. The real political as well as social power, however, resides in the hands of the Prime Minister, who in turn heads the Council of Ministers. According to the Federal System of India, it is clearly stated in the Article 74(1) of the Indian Constitution, that the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers will advise and help the President. The Council of Members is answerable to the Lok Sabha or the House of People, as per the Federal System prevailing in India.

The Indian Constitution is subject to change, however, this change can only occur after the bill is passed with a majority of votes in the Parliament House. Legislative powers are shared between the State Legislatures and the Parliament, while the rest of the powers are in the hands of the Parliament of India. The Federal System in India conveys that the President, the Prime Minister, the Council of Ministers and the Vice-President, together form the Union Executive.

Last Updated on 28 September 2012