Executive - Indian Government

Executive - Indian Government consists of the President of India, the Council of Ministers, the Vice-President, the Union Ministries and the Independent Executive Agencies. In the Executive - Indian Government, the President of the nation is the head of the state. The Executive - Indian Government executes its powers through the President, the main guardian of the Constitution of the Republic and the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces.

The President, in the system of Executive - Indian Government, has the capacity to dissolve the Parliament, call fresh elections, declare emergency situation in the state and also can dismiss the government of the states. However, the President cannot act without the counsel of the Prime Minister. The president automatically becomes the Supreme Commander of the armed forces of India, in the Executive Indian Government system.

The Council of Ministers basically comprises three categories, namely, the Cabinet Minister, the deputy ministers and the Minister of State (Independent Charge). The Union Cabinet is headed by the Prime Minister of India, who is also the real head of the nation, since all the powers reside in him.

The major Independent Executive Agencies under the Indian Executive Government are listed below:
  • Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI)
  • National Commission for Women
  • Central Information Commission
  • Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)
  • National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
  • Election Commission of India
  • Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG)
  • Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)
  • National Commission on Population
  • Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB)
  • Planning Commission - The premier agency
  • Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

  • Apex/Independent offices of Government of India

    Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012