Constitution of Supreme Court of India

The Constitution of Supreme Court of India marks the functioning of the highest Court of the nation. The Supreme Court of India was established in the year 1950 on 28th January. The induction of Indian Supreme Court took place in the Chamber of Princes in the building of the Parliament. The current Chief Justice of the Supreme Court is H L Dattu.

The India Supreme Court shifted base to the present building in the year 1958. The building of the Supreme Court has been fashioned so as to project the representation of the scales of justice. The building's Central Wing is the Scales' Centre Beam. To the Supreme Court complex the addition of two new wings, West Wing and East Wing took place in the year 1979.

One of the main constituents of the Constitution of Supreme Court of India is the composition of the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court includes the Chief Justice and not more than 25 judges who are appointed by the President of India with consultation of the Chief Justice of India.

The qualifications to become a Supreme Court judge are as follows:

  1. He/She should be a citizen of India
  2. He/She should have been a judge of a High Court or two or more such Courts in succession for a minimum time of five years
  3. He/She would also be eligible if the candidate had been a High Court Advocate for a minimum time of ten years
  4. He/She should be a distinguished jurist in the opinion of the Indian President

The Constitution of India seeks out to guarantee the sovereignty of Supreme Court of India in various ways. A judge of the Indian Supreme Court cannot be replaced from Office except an order is passed by the India President following an address in both the Houses of the Parliament of India. The address should be supported by two-third of the members who are present and vote. The judges of the Supreme Court in India have to retire at the age of 65 yrs.

The dealings of the India Supreme Court are put into effect in English. There are 3 types of Jurisdiction in the Indian Supreme Court. These are as follows:

  1. Original
  2. Appellate
  3. Advisory

Last Updated on : September 29, 2014