Department of Atomic Energy

The Department of Atomic Energy - India is headed by the Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh. The Department is mainly responsible for proper implementation of various nuclear programs of India. The Citizen's Charter, an administrative unit of the Department of Atomic Energy, is involved in supporting innovative nuclear technologies, nuclear minerals processing, nuclear waste processing and others. The Department of Atomic Energy comprises several functional units, which include industrial organizations, service organization, R & D centers and undertakings of public sector. The industrial units are:

  1. Heavy Water Board- Mumbai
  2. Board of Radiation and Isotope Technology
  3. Nuclear Fuel Complex- Hyderabad
The public sector organizations of the Department include:
  1. Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd
  2. Indian Rare Earths Limited- Mumbai
  3. Electronics Corporation of India Ltd - Hyderabad
  4. Uranium Corporation of India Limited - Jaduguda
The service organizations of the Department are:
  1. General Services Organization- Kalpakkam
  2. Directorate of Stores and Purchase - Mumbai
  3. Directorate of Services, Construction and Estate Management - Mumbai

The two most important power generating units of the Atomic Department of India are Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd and Bharatiya Nibhikiya Vidyut Nigam Ltd. Both the companies are enterprises of Government of India. 17 operators are already functioning under the Nuclear Power Corporation of India. The Corporation is working towards increasing the production of nuclear power in an economical way.

The Department of Atomic Energy aims at making the country energy independent. This can only be done through implementation of new nuclear technologies. The Government of India has established several research centers for the development of the nuclear power energy. The centers include:
  1. Bhaba Atomic Research Center
  2. Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre
  3. Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology
  4. Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research

The address of the Department of Atomic Energy is:

Anushakti Bhavan,
Chatrapathi Shivaji Maharaj Marg,
Mumbai - 400 001

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations