Politics of India

Politics of India is concentrated in the framework of a parliamentary system that is federal and a democratic republic. The politics of India is based on a multi-party system, which is modeled according to the British Westminster System of government. As per the Indian politics, the head of the government is the Prime Minister, while the President of the nation is the formal head of the government. The President, according to the politics of India, has some of the reserved powers that he can use during emergency situations. The government of India exercises the executive powers while the federal powers are distributed among the government and the two Houses in the Parliament.

There are two Houses in the political system in India, namely, the Lok Sabha or the House of the People and the Rajya Sabha or the House of Councils. The people of the country elect the members of the Lok Sabha, which is headed by the Prime Minister. There are also three divisions in the politics of India, which are listed as:
  • The Legislative Branch
  • The Executive Branch
  • The Judicial Branch

The working of the politics of India is conducted according to the laws of the land, which are created after the bill clears both the upper House and the lower House of the Parliament. The Bill is signed as an Act only after the signature of the President.
The various political parties of Indian politics play an important role in defining the basic framework of the same. These parties are divided into parts namely national political parties and regional political parties. The candidates of National parties take part in elections all over India, while the regional parties can contest only the State elections.
Some of the National Parties of India are:
  1. Bharatiya Janata Party
  2. Indian National Congress
  3. Samajwadi Party
  4. Communist Party of India (Marxist)
  5. Bahujan Samaj Party
  6. Communist Party of India
Some of the Regional Parties under the politics of India are:
  1. Telegu Desam
  2. Dravida Munnetra Kazagham (DMK)
  3. Shiv Sena
  4. Akali Dal

Last Updated on 28 September 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations