National Symbols of India

The national symbols of India are an integral part of the country's culture and heritage. These symbols infuse a sense of patriotism among the people of India. These also give a feeling of unification among the diversified Indian population.

The national symbols of India are used during national celebrations. For example, the national flag of India is hoisted on Independence Day. These symbols are unique and uphold a separate cultural entity. The Indian national symbols are in a way the representatives of India.

Various National Symbols, India

  • National Flag: It is a tri-colored flag with three horizontal stripes. The top stripe is saffron, the middle one is white and the bottom one is dark green in color. The white stripe has got a wheel called Dharma Chakra in the middle with 24 spokes and is blue in color. The saffron represents courage, white represents truth and purity and dark green represents fertility and faith. The width to length ratio of the Indian flag is 2:3.
  • National Anthem: 'Jana-gana-mana' is the national anthem of India. Rabindranath Tagore composed the verse which consists of 5 stanzas. It was adopted as the national anthem of India on 24th January, 1950.
  • National Emblem: The national emblem of India depicts four lions representing power, courage and confidence. The other lion is hidden in the back. There are also four small animals that encircle the circular abacus on which the four lions stand. These four animals are lion, horse, elephant and bull. The animals represent 4 directions namely north, south, east and west respectively. Just below the national emblem, the motto 'Satyameva Jayate' is inscribed in Devanagari script. The abacus stands on a full-bloom lotus.
  • Other National Symbols of India: Lotus is the national flower, Banyan is the national tree, mango is the national fruit, peacock is the national bird and tiger is the national animal of India.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations