Indian Visa/ Passport

Indian Visa/ Passport are issued to the citizens of the country by the Consular Passport and Visa Division or the CPV Division of the Indian Ministry of External Affairs. Visa/passport is necessary for international travel by the citizens of India. The Indian Visa Passport can be applied for by the citizens from as many as 28 places in the country apart from 160 Indian missions in the foreign countries.

Indian Passport

There are three different types of passports, for which the Indian citizens can apply. These are as follows:
  • Diplomatic Passport
  • Regular Passport
  • Official Passport
The various passports differ in purpose as well as in appearance. While the Diplomatic Passport has a maroon cover, the Regular Passport has a navy blue cover and the Official Passport can be easily identified by its white cover. However, all of them have the Emblem of India printed on it with the words, "Republic of India" and "Passport" inscribed below the Emblem in English as well as in Hindi.

The major thing needed for making Indian Passport and also the Visa is the identity of the holder. The main information needed while applying for any kind of passport is:
  • Photo of Passport Holder
  • Signature of the Passport Holder
  • Country Code (IND)
  • Surname
  • Given Names
  • Name of Father or Legal Guardian
  • Name of Mother
  • Nationality
  • Name of Spouse
  • Address
  • Date of Birth
  • Place of Birth
  • Sex

Must Read: How to Apply for Passport Online

Indian Visa

The Indian Visa helps the citizens to go and stay for some time in the foreign countries. Some of the countries offer Visa on Arrival facilities or the facility of Visa Free Travel to the Indian citizens. Some of these are as follows:
  • Andorra
  • Azerbaijan
  • Nepal
  • Bhutan
  • Hong Kong
  • Oman
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Czech Republic
There are a number of visas which are issued by the CPV Division for different purposes. These are:
  • Transit visa
  • Tourist Visa
  • Student Visa
  • Conference Visa
  • Business Visa
To apply for the visa one has to apply in the High Commission of India from the country from where he/she is planning to come from. The basic documentary requirements for getting Indian visa are as follows:
  • 2 photographs of passport size
  • Original passport of the applicant which must be valid for 6 months
  • Properly filled-up application form
  • Documents supporting the credentials of the applicant
While visiting India Non-Resident Indians and people of Indian descent are not required to produce Indian visa, provided they have PIO Cards or Overseas Indian Citizenship.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations