Independent Departments- Government of India

Founded by the Indian Constitution, the Government of India is the governing body of a federal state. It has several independent departments namely, the Department of Space Department of Atomic Energy and others. The space unit, of the independent departments- Government of India creates innovative technologies for the development of space science. ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) has two space systems, namely, INSAT and IRS.

The former is meant for television broadcasting, meteorological work and communication purposes. The Department of Space, an Independent Departments - Government of India, was founded in June 1972. ISRO, under Space Department of India, develops satellites, Sounding Rockets and launch vehicles. The activities of this department include involvement in global science campaigns, IRS-P3 satellites and SROSS. The functions of this department are proper monitoring of the satellites like Bhaskara, Apple, Rohini, Aryabhatta, through ISRO.

On the other hand, another important independent department of Government of India is the Department of Atomic Energy. This department is responsible for monitoring the various nuclear programs of India. The Minister in charge of the department is Dr. Manmohan Singh. The two major power generating units of the Government of India are Nuclear Corporation of India Ltd and Bharatiya Nabhikiya Vidyut Nigam Ltd. Both of the units work on the development of nuclear power programs in India.

One can browse the following links to get more information on Independent Departments - Government of India:

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations