Planning Commission of India

Founded in 1950, the Planning Commission of India was established for proper utilization of the resources of India. The Commission aims to provide more employment opportunities to the people by formulating various schemes and policies meant for the development of the society. The balanced exploitation of the wealth of the country is the prime responsibility of the Planning Commission of India.

The Commission performs several important functions through many divisional units. Each of the unit is administered by an efficient officer. Dr. Manmohan Singh is the present Chairman and Shri. Montek Singh Ahluwalia is the current Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission of India. The members of the Commission include Dr. V.L. Chopra, Dr. Bhalchandra Mungekar, Dr. (Ms.) Syeda Hameed, Dr. Kirit Parikh, Prof. Abhijit Sen, Shri B.N. Yugandhar Shri Anwar-ul-Hoda and others. Some of the important divisions of the Planning Commission in India are as follows:

  1. Housing, Urban Development & Water Supply Division
  2. Industry & Minerals Division
  3. International Economic Division
  4. Infrastructure Division
  5. Labor, Employment and Manpower Division
  6. Multi-level Planning Division
  7. Monitoring Division
  8. Science & Technology Division
  9. Social Development & Women's Program Division
  10. Social Welfare Division
  11. Agriculture Division
  12. Backward Classes Division
  13. Communication & Information Division
  14. Development Policy Division
  15. Education Division
  16. Environment & Forest Division
  17. Financial Resources Division
  18. Health, Nutrition & Family Welfare Division
  19. State Plans Division
  20. Transport Division
  21. Village & Small Enterprises Division
  22. Water Resources Division
  23. Administration & Services Division
  24. Perspective Planning Division
  25. Program Outcome & Response Monitoring Division
  26. Plan Coordination Division
  27. Power & Energy Division
  28. Program Evaluation Organization
  29. Project Appraisal & Management Division
  30. Rural Development Division

There are also few other units, which are mainly responsible for making programs for the development of border region of India, Western Ghat and others.

The Planning Commission of India operates under the National Development Council. The members of the Planning Commission offer proper guidance to the several divisions for successfully implementing the important plans. The Commission has worked on different plans including:

  1. State Plan
  2. Five Year Plan
  3. Projects
  4. Annual Plan
  5. Monitoring Plan Programs

Among the several other functions performed by the Planning Commission of India, the most important ones are as follows:

  1. Analysis of the resources of India
  2. Increasing the production in different sectors of the country
  3. Analyzing the factors that retard the economic development
  4. Formulating schemes for proper implementation of different Plans
  5. Keeping a close watch on the progress of each phase of the Plan and others

The Commission is working on the Eleventh Five Year Plan. It has set up various committees for executing the plan for its fruitful completion.

Last Updated on 28 September 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations