Municipalities in India

Municipalities in India came into being in the British era. The first of the municipalities in India was in the city of Chennai as the Municipal Corporation in the year 1688. This was followed by the setting up of the subsequent municipalities in India in the states of Maharashtra and West Bengal. Presidents of these municipalities in India were elected by Lord Mayo's Resolution of 1870.

The present structure and configuration of the municipalities of India came into being after Lord Ripon's Resolution of 1882. The basic structure of the municipalities in India has not changed much since 1882. In the year 1992, the 74th Constitutional Amendment Act came into being and brought with it specifications regarding the responsibilities and the powers of the municipal units in India. The periodical elections followed the 1992 Act with timely elections and reconstruction of the municipal government.

The 1992 Act made it mandatory for the Central Finance Commission to take care of the state municipalities in India and provide funds in case of necessity. However, unlike the rural governing bodies, the urban Indian municipalities did not have a federated and systematic network. The municipal networks in India comprise of Mayor and councilors. The number of councilors in a particular municipal area depends upon the total population of that region. Also, the elected councilors are the ones who choose among the nominated councilors.

The Municipalities of India are headed by the Municipal Commissioner whose tenure of operation is fixed by the State Statue. All the powers and responsibilities of the Municipal Commissioner are also provided by the Statue of the State. The functions of Municipalities are divided into two parts - discretionary and Obligatory. Some of the discretionary functions of the Municipalities of India are:
  1. Housing facilities for low income groups
  2. Construction and maintenance of gardens, libraries, rest houses, public parks, leper homes, rescue homes for women, museums and orphanages
  3. Provision of transport links with the municipality
  4. Promotion of welfare of employees of municipalities
  5. Securing or removal of building or places that are prone to dangers
Some of the obligatory functions performed by the municipals of India are:
  1. Building and maintenance of primary schools
  2. Supply of wholesome water
  3. Removing obstruction and projections in public paths, bridges and other areas
  4. Lighting and watering in the public streets
  5. Maintenance and development of the public hospitals
  6. Construction and maintenance of public streets

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations