Department of Space

The Department of Space - India is an independent department of the nation. The Space Commission and Department of Space was first established in the country in 1972, June. The secretary of the Space Department of India is Shri. Madhavan Nair. ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) operates under the Department of Space.

The organization is responsible for executing various space related programs in India. It has its centers throughout the country working for the development of space research and other space systems. The Department of Space of India is engaged in various international space science awareness campaigns, IRS-P3 and SROSS satellite, development of launch vehicles and other activities. ISRO, under this department, is experimenting with Satellite Telecommunication Experiment (STEP) and Satellite Instructional Television Experiment (SITE). The IRS satellites are being launched now by the launch vehicle like PSLV (Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle) and GSLV (Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle).

The Department of Space in India is also monitoring various functional space systems, which include the IRS (Indian Remote Sensing Satellite) and the INSAT (Indian National Satellite). The former is mainly used for disaster signals, television broadcasting, communication and other purposes. The latter is being used for resource management. ISRO of Space Department of India has created two launch vehicles - GLSV and PLSV -for placing the two satellites in the orbits. The progress and development of space technology in India wholly depends on the Department of Space - India.

Development of launch vehicles, satellites, sounding rockets and many allied fields is the prime objective of the Indian Space Research Organization.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations