Executive - Indian Government

Executive - Indian Government consists of the President of India, the Council of Ministers, the Vice-President, the Union Ministries and the Independent Executive Agencies. In the Executive - Indian Government, the President of the nation is the head of the state. The Executive - Indian Government executes its powers through the President, the main guardian of the Constitution of the Republic and the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces.

The President, in the system of Executive - Indian Government, has the capacity to dissolve the Parliament, call fresh elections, declare emergency situation in the state and also can dismiss the government of the states. However, the President cannot act without the counsel of the Prime Minister. The president automatically becomes the Supreme Commander of the armed forces of India, in the Executive Indian Government system.

The Council of Ministers basically comprises three categories, namely, the Cabinet Minister, the deputy ministers and the Minister of State (Independent Charge). The Union Cabinet is headed by the Prime Minister of India, who is also the real head of the nation, since all the powers reside in him.

The major Independent Executive Agencies under the Indian Executive Government are listed below:
  • Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI)
  • National Commission for Women
  • Central Information Commission
  • Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)
  • National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
  • Election Commission of India
  • Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG)
  • Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)
  • National Commission on Population
  • Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB)
  • Planning Commission - The premier agency
  • Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

For detailed information on the Executive - Indian Government, the following links can come quite handy:

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations