Indian Languages Map

Language Map of India

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Language Map of India
Print Email Save
*The Map showing the languages spoken by the People of Indian States. Disclaimer

Language is an important part of communication between humans. It helps individuals to communicate easily and share their thoughts, feelings and ideas through spoken words. Every community, be it a small group living together, a country or people living in the same geographical area has its language.

India, a geographically and culturally diverse country witnesses varied languages that are spoken in different parts of the nation. As mentioned in the eighth schedule of the constitution of India, there are 22 constitutional languages, namely; Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Santhali, Maithili, and Dogri.

Some of these languages have different variants based on the demographics of an area. Moreover, there are a wide variety of local and tribal languages that are spread across the nation but are not mentioned in the constitution.

Unlike other nations, India does not give the status of ‘national language’ to any language. Instead, Article 343 (1) of the Indian constitution made the “Hindi” language in the Devanagari script the official language of the country that should be used for all official purposes. Along with that, the “English” language was given the status of associate official language.

Both Hindi and English are spoken widely in the whole of India. Besides all the 28 states and eight union territories of India also have other languages that are spoken within their boundaries.

Here is a list of languages spoken in different states and union territories of India:

Name of State/Union TerritoryMajor Language SpokenOther Languages Spoken
Jammu and KashmirKashmiriDogri and Hindi
LadakhLadakhiTibetan, Urdu and Balti
Himachal PradeshHindiPunjabi and Nepali
UttrakhandHindiUrdu, Punjabi and Nepali
HaryanaHindiPunjabi and Urdu
DelhiHindiPunjabi, Urdu and Bengali
Uttar PradeshHindiUrdu
RajasthanHindiPunjabi and Urdu
Madhya PradeshHindiMarathi and Urdu
ChhattisgarhHindiBengali and Oriya
BiharHindiMaithili and Urdu
JharkhandHindiSantali, Bengali and Urdu
West BengalBengaliHindi, Santali, Urdu, Nepali
SikkimNepaliHindi, Bengali
AssamAssameseBengali, Hindi, Bodo and Nepali
Arunachal PradeshBengaliNepali, Hindi and Assamese
NagalandBengaliHindi and Nepali
MizoramBengaliHindi and Nepali
MeghalayaBengaliHindi and Nepali
ManipurManipuriNepali, Hindi and Bengali
OrissaOriyaHindi, Telegu and Santali
MaharashtraMarathiHindi, Urdu and Gujarati
GujaratGujaratiHindi, Sindhi, Marathi and Urdu
Dadra Nagar Haveli and Daman DiuGujaratiHindi and Konkani
GoaKonkaniMarathi, Hindi and Kannada
KarnatakaKannadaUrdu, Telugu, Marathi and Tamil
Andhra PradeshTeluguUrdu, Hindi and Tamil
Lakshadweep IslandsMalayalamNone
Tamil NaduTamilTelugu, Kannada and Urdu
PuducherryTamilTelugu, Kannada and Urdu
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsBengaliHindi, Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam

Last Updated on : September 05, 2022

  View India Map in