Track Your Constituency

Andaman and Nicobar General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Andaman and Nicobar General Election Results

Map of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Constituencies

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Constituencies Andaman and Nicobar Parliamentary
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Disclaimer

Andaman and Nicobar Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Andaman and Nicobar Lok Sabha Election 2014 Dates

*Andaman and Nicobar polling date: 10 April (Phase 3)

PC No.PC NameCategoryIssue of NotificationLast Date for filing NominationsScrutiny of NominationsLast date for withdrawal of CandidaturePolling DateCounting of VotesDate before which the election shall be Completed
1Andaman & Nicobar IslandsGEN15 Mar22 Mar24 Mar26 Mar10 April16 May28 May

Andaman Nicobar Lok Sabha Elections 2014

It is a group of islands located in the Bay of Bengal. It became a part of the Indian Union in 1950 and was granted the status of a Union Territory of India on 1 November 1956.

It is the largest UT in India in terms of area and enjoys high HDI rank. The group of islands is divided into three districts and is sparsely populated. The UT is home to tribes like Shompen, Nicobarese and Andamanese. Andaman and Nicobar islands have a long coastline and have great maritime importance.

Member Representation at the Centre

Andaman and Nicobar islands have only one Lok Sabha constituency. It does not elect any member to the Rajya Sabha.

The Union Territory does not have a state legislature. It comes directly under the control of the Central Government. The Lieutenant Governor is the representative of the federal government in Andaman and Nicobar.

Political Parties

The national-level political parties that are active in Andaman and Nicobar are:
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)]
  • Samajwadi Party (SP)
Andaman and Nicobar also has some state-level political parties. Some of them are:
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist Leninist) (Liberation)
  • Lok Jan Shakti Party (LNJSP)
Election History

In the electoral history of Andaman and Nicobar, the INC has been the most dominant political party, though recently the BJP has made its presence felt in the UT. The sixth Lok Sabha elections were the first parliamentary elections to be held in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The Indian National Congress won the elections and went on to win every election till the 12th Lok Sabha elections. This winning streak of INC was broken by the BJP in the 13th Lok Sabha elections. INC reclaimed the seat in the 14th Lok Sabha polls, but in the 15th general elections BJP won the seat.

Prominent Political Personalities

The 16th Lok Sabha polls will be held on 10 April 2014 in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Indian National Congress (INC) and Samajwadi Party (SP) have announced their candidates but BJP and BSP are yet to name their contestant. The contestants in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections are:
  • Kuldeep Rai Sharma :He is the president of the Andaman and Nicobar Pradesh Committee. He is a INC candidate from Andaman and Nicobar.
  • Raghubir Singh Fisherman :He is a Samajwadi Party candidate for the lone parliamentary seat in Andaman and Nicobar.
Famous Politicians

Two personalities stand out as the most important political leaders of Andaman and Nicobar. They are: e>
Quick Facts No. of PCs: 1
No. of Polling Days: 1
Polling Dates: 10 April (Phase 3)
No. of Polling Stations: 386
No. of Polling Station locations: 300
Total Electors: 2,57,856 (as on 7th January 2014)
Electors in Age Group 18 to 25 years: 12.75%
Women Electors: 47.12%
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 54 lakhs

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Andaman & Nicobar IslandsGENBishnu Pada RayMBJP75211

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.