*Party - No of seats Won (Leading)
BJP :0
INC :0
BSP :0
SP :0
AAP :0
BJD :0
CPM :0
SHS :0
Track Your Constituency

Chandigarh General Election Results

Chandigarh General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019


*Map showing the constituency wise Chandigarh General Election Results 2019.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

2019: Winning Status
2019: Candidate List
2014: Winning Party

Lok Sabha Election Result 2019

Chandigarh Election Result 2019
Constituency NameCandidatePartyWin/ LeadVotes Margin
ChandigarhSmt. Kirron KherBharatiya Janata PartyWin46970

Map of Chandigarh Parliamentary Election Result 2014
Chandigarh Parliamentary Constituencies
Print Email Save   Buy Now

*Map showing the constituency wise Chandigarh General Election Results 2014.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Chandigarh General Election 2014 Results

Kher Kirron AnupamBharatiya Janata Party191362
Pawan Kumar BansalIndian National Congress121720
Gulkirat Kaur PanagAam Aadmi Party108679
Jannat Jahan-Ul-Haq (Naina)Bahujan Samaj Party15934
Reena SharmaIndependent2643
Shamsher SinghIndependent2054
Kawaljit SinghCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1968
Pawan Kumar SharmaIndependent997
Ramesh ChanderIndependent743
Ajay SinglaIndependent660
Khem Lal BansalInqalab Vikas Dal640
Deepak ShuklaIndependent613
Dharmender SinghHindustan Ekta Party566
Surender KumarBahujan Mukti Party550
Surinder BhardwajJanata Dal (United)434
Amarjit KaurIndependent397
Jasmer SinghIndependent389
None of the AboveNone of the Above3106

PartyAbbreviationWon Seats
Bharatiya Janata PartyBJP1
Total 1

Constituency Wise Chandigarh Lok Sabha Election Results

Constituency NameCategory Const. No.Winning CandidateWinning PartyRunner_up CandidateRunner_up PartyMargin
ChandigarhGEN1Kher Kirron AnupamBJPPawan Kumar BansalINC69,642

Chandigarh General Elections 2014 Result

In "Ladies vs Pawan Bansal", Kirron Kher has emerged victorious. The BJP candidate from Chandigarh has triumphed over four times MP from this constituency and former Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal. Aam Aadmi Party candidate Gul Panag, who shored up the glam quotient in this interesting contest, was left behind in the third spot.

Chandigarh, first impressed everybody with a high voter turnout of 73.84 %, greater than most of the Indian metros. And now it has chosen an unlikely victor in Kirron Kher. Bollywood's favourite "mother" Kher ran a relatively low profile campaign in this Union Territory. There was news of party workers raising slogans against her and burning effigies as soon as Kher's name was announced for this constituency. Many believed that local leaders like Harmohan Dhawan and Sanjay Tandon initially resented the fact that an "outsider" was given a ticket. Her opponents, especially Pawan Kumar Bansal, made it a focal point in his campaigns. Kirron Kher, whose father lives in the city, was criticized for not being aware of the burning local problems. Finally, it was the Modi wave that enabled her to coast to a comfortable victory, winning an overwhelming 42.20% votes in the three-cornered fight.

Her nearest rival was Pawan Kumar Bansal who was defeated by more than 68 thousand votes. Bansal, who won the seat 3 times consecutively, could only manage 26.84% of the total votes polled. This was in sharp contrast to the last elections of 2009, when he had scored a resounding victory, winning over 52% votes. This sharp drop in vote share can be ascribed to various factors.

Bansal, six months into his stint as Railway Minister, was forced to resign after his nephew got involved in cash-for-jobs scam. Subsequently CBI gave a clean chit to him, but a section of the electorate still looked at him with certain amount of trepidation. Bansal, who became the MP of Chandigarh for the first time in 1991 before losing in 1996 and 1999, also conceded after defeat that his scam-tainted image worked against him.

The fact though remains that like other parts of the country, this largely predominant urban constituency of Chandigarh had shifted its allegiance from Congress to give mandate for the "Modi sarkar". Bansal merely became a victim of the collective will of people to usher in a change. Hence, like many of his ex-colleagues of the Cabinet, he slumped to an embarrassing defeat despite doing satisfactory development job. Bansal camp thought that he will coast to victory. What they didn't account for was the incremental vote Kirron Kher will garner banking on the Modi wave.

In this election, Aam Aadmi Party has only won seats in Punjab. Chandigarh, the capital of Punjab, was always a fertile land for AAP to reap benefits. But actress Gul Panag failed to cash on to that advantage. What worked against her was perhaps the absence of any real organization in the ground. In Punjab, AAP candidates were also benefited from double anti- incumbency, i.e., against the central government and also against the Akali- BJP alliance in the state. In Chandigarh though, the entire negativity was against the ruling UPA and BJP being the more credible national force, managed to leverage the public anger.

Gul Panag though unlike many of her party colleagues gave decent fight, polling more than 1.08 lakh votes. Her innovative style of campaigning riding a Harley Davidson bike will remain one of the lasting images of this election.

In the final equation, mood of Chandigarh resonated with the broad national mood. Kirron Kher will now have her work cut out to match up to the expectations of people.

Summary of Bihar Election 2014

The union territory of Chandigarh saw its highest-ever polling percentage, as 74% of the electors voted in the 2014 Lok Sabha election for the only parliamentary seat of Chandigarh during Phase 3. The polls were conducted across 519 polling booths.

Candidates from Chandigarh

As per media reports, the lone LS seat of Chandigarh had a total of 17 candidates in the fray, whose fate were decided on 16 May 2014. The former railway minister Pawan Kumar Bansal (Congress), Gul Panag (Aam Aadmi Party), and Kirron Kher (BJP) were some of the popular leaders who were fielded.

Overview of Electors

Out of the total 6,13,939 eligible electors, 2.81 lakh were female. The young voters (20-29 years) were numbered 1.71 lakh.

Total turnout: 74 %

TimeVoting Percentage
10:00 AM15%
01:00 PM42.3%

  • Chief Electoral Officer, Chandigarh
  • Election Commission of India


Chandigarh Parliamentary Election Result 2009

StateYear PC No. PC Name Category WinnerSexPartyVoteRunner UpSexPartyVote
Chandigarh20091ChandigarhGENBansal, Shri Pawan Kumar MINC161042Satya Pal JainMBJP102075


Chandigarh Parliamentary Election Result 2004

PC No. PC Name Category WinnerSexPartyVoteRunner UpSexPartyVote
1ChandigarhGENPawan Kumar BansalMINC139880Satya Pal JainMBJP94632

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit Mapsofindia.com/parliamentaryconstituencies/ for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.