Track Your Constituency

Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency Map and Election Results

Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency Map

separator Customized Maps arrow custom map
Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituencies
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map of Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency Disclaimer

General Election Candidate List 2019
PartyConstituencyCandidate Name
INCBangalore SouthB.K. Hariprasad
BJPBangalore SouthShri Tejaswi Surya L.S.
BSPBangalore SouthA.Raju

Karnataka Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)
Bangalore South General Elections 2014 Result Summary

India has given a decisive mandate to Narendra Modi-led NDA alliance. In this virtual "TsuNaMo", most of the interesting key fights which garnered much media attention have gone in only one direction. The battle between Nandan Nilekani of Congress and Ananth Kumar of BJP in Bangalore South was no exception to this general trend. Kumar has humbled Nilekani to win the seat for the 6th time in a row!

A no-contest

Media projected the race for Bangalore South Lok Sabha seat to be a close one. Nandan Nilekani, the pin-up boy of Indian IT industry was taking on Ananth Kumar, who is known to have a cold relationship with dominant BJP leader of the state, BS Yeddyurappa. But in reality the battle turned out to be extremely one sided. Ananth Kumar triumphed over his more fancied rival by nearly 2 lakh 28 thousand votes. Not only did he win convincingly, but also completely bucked any trend of local anti-incumbency by increasing his margin by nearly 2 lakh votes! When Nilekani conceded defeat with couple of rounds yet to be counted, it was evident from his body language that the magnitude of the loss has literally left him shell-shocked.

Contrasting style

The campaign style of these two leaders couldn't have been starkly different. Ananth Kumar, a protege of Lal Krishna Advani, is predominantly an old-school politician who banked mainly on his party organization. Nandan Nilekani, however, launched a hi-tech campaign. He had a team of young IT professionals who analyzed voters profile right up to the booth level, so that Nilekani could maximize the harvest from his campaign. Perhaps understanding that Congress is on a sticky wicket in this election, Rahul Gandhi's cherry-picked aide Nilekani mostly asked electorate to vote for him, stressing less on his party.

Others in the race

Other notable candidates in the fray, among the 23 running, were Ruth Manorama of Janata Dal (Secular) and Nina Patnaik of the Aam Aadmi Party. Manorama sought to leverage the perceived unhappiness of the Vokkaliga community with BJP for bringing back BS Yeddyurappa, ex-Chief Minister and a dominant Lingayat leader in its fold. The inclusion of the likes of Yeddyurappa was also made an election issue by Patnaik, who tried to attack both BJP and Congress for compromising on corruption. But as results indicate, both JDS and AAP candidate failed to resonate with the voters, losing their deposits in the process.

Militant Hindutva was also given thumbs down by the electorate with Pramod Muthalik getting merely 4,247 votes.

Kumar's coup

Media, over the years, have speculated that Ananth Kumar does not get on very well with Narendra Modi. Kumar facing an aggressive campaign from Nilekani pulled off a coup when he persuaded Modi to campaign for him. Not only did it quell the rumours within media, but also forced the Yeddyurappa faction of the party to completely support him.

In the end, Kumar's decisive mandate can largely be attributed to the Modi wave that tipped the scales in his favour. Not only in South Bangalore, but across whole Karnataka, BJP fared well after being booted out of power merely a year ago. Even stench of corruption in the local Karnataka unit of BJP failed to make any impact with Yeddy and Sriramulu, all winning comfortably. People across the nation, including in Bangalore South, looked at the bigger picture for the sake of "Modi Sarkar". For all his brand imaging, Nilekani was seen to be a part of the ineffective regime of Manmohan Singh, as he was the chairman of the UIDAI or Aadhar project.

Kumar is all set to get an important portfolio in the Modi government. Nilekani, on his part, has promised to stay in politics and work for Bangalore.

Bangalore South General Election Result 2014

CandidateParty Votes
Ananth KumarBharatiya Janata Party633,816
Nandan NilekaniIndian National Congress405,241
Ruth ManoramaJanata Dal (Secular)25,677
Nina P NayakAam Aadmi Party21,403
Pramod MutalikIndependent4,247
Khan Abdul RBahujan Samaj Party2,747
T.K. DasarIndependent929
Ravikumara TSamajwadi Party781
G. Venkatesh BhoviIndependent736
Govindaiah B.R.Independent672
T. E. MosesIndependent604
G.R. ShivashankarAll India Forward Bloc586
Shambulingegowda (Gandivadi)Independent581
Dr. Pradeep GadugeshIndependent549
Dr. Kodur VenkateshIndependent502
GayathriPyramid Party of India484
Mahadeva Swamy. B. MBharatiya Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Janta Party428
N. HanumegowdaIndependent414
Syed MehaboobJanata Dal (United)365
Syed Rafiq AhmedIndependent246
None of the AboveNone of the Above7,414

Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency (Lok Sabha) Election Results

List of Winning MP and Runner up from 1977 to till date from Bangalore South Lok Sabha Constituency

YearState NamePC CodePC NamePC TypeWinnerSexPartyTotal VoteRunner UpSEXPARTYTotal Vote
1977Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENK. S. HegdeMBLD221974K. HanumantaiyaMINC180809
1980Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENT.R. ShamannaMJNP198390D.P. SharmaMINC(I)195663
1984Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENV. S. Krishna IyerMJNP264765K. Venkatagiri GowdaMINC252033
1991Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENK. Venkatgiri GowdaMBJP275083R. Gundu RaoMINC247835
1996Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP251235Varalakshmi GunduraoMINC229267
1998Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP429648D.P.SharmaMINC249601
1999Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP410161B.K.Hari PrasadMINC344107
2004Karnataka13Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP386682Krishnappa MMINC324411
2009Karnataka26Bangalore SouthGENAnanth Kumar,Shri MBJP437953Krishna Byre GowdaMINC400341
2014Karnataka26Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP633,816Nandan NilekaniMINC405,241

Assembly Constituencies in Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency
Govindraj NagarVijay NagarChickpet
BasavanagudiPadmanaba NagarB.T.M. Layout

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Karnataka  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1Chikkodi15Udupi Chikmagalur
3Bagalkot17Dakshina Kannada
9Bellary23Bangalore Rural
10Haveri 24Bangalore North
11Dharwad25Bangalore Central
12Uttara Kannada26Bangalore South

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.