Track Your Constituency

Lakshadweep General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2024 Latest News & Live Updates

Lakshadweep General Election Results

Map of Lakshadweep Parliamentary Constituencies

Lakshadweep Parliamentary Constituencies
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Lakshadweep. Disclaimer

Lakshadweep, formerly known as Laccadives, is a Union Territory situated in the Laccadive Sea. Comprising 36 islands and 12 atolls, this archipelago was once under the jurisdiction of the Madras Presidency during British rule. Following India's independence, it became a part of the Union of India and was designated as a Union Territory on November 1, 1956. Renamed Lakshadweep, meaning "hundred thousand islands," its administrative center is located in Kavaratti.

Lakshadweep General Elections 2024

The Union Territory of Lakshadweep has only one seat in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian Parliament. Therefore, Lakshadweep contributes one Member of Parliament (MP) to the Lok Sabha.

The Lakshadweep Lok Sabha Constituency Election for 2024 is scheduled for April 19, falling within Phase 2 of the election process. Candidates are required to submit their nominations by March 27. Withdrawal of candidature is allowed until March 30. Vote counting will commence on June 4, following which the winner will be announced.

Number of seats1
Issue of gazette notification 20 Mar 2024
Last date to submit nomination27 Mar 2024
Last date of withdrawal of candidature30 Mar 2024
Date of election 19 Apr 2024
Result Announcement4 Jun 2024

Election History

In the 2019 general elections, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) secured one seat in Lakshadweep. The constituency experienced intense competition during the 2019 General Assembly Elections, boasting an impressive 84.96% voter turnout.

Mohammed Faizal Pp, the NCP candidate, emerged victorious in the 2019 General Election with a slim margin of 823 votes, garnering a total of 22,851 votes. His closest competitor was Hamdullah Sayeed of the Indian National Congress (INC), who secured 22,028 votes.

Political Parties Competing in 2024 Election

In 2024, the electorate is displaying heightened enthusiasm to exercise their voting rights.. Below are the parties contesting for the single Lok Sabha seat.

  • NCP (Nationalist Congress Party): The NCP, a centrist political party, has a presence in Lakshadweep. Led by prominent leaders like Sharad Pawar, the party advocates for issues such as secularism, social justice, and regional autonomy.
  • BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) in Lakshadweep: The BJP, the current ruling party of India, has been making inroads into Lakshadweep in recent years. While traditionally not as strong in the region compared to mainland India, the BJP has been expanding its presence.
  • INC (Indian National Congress): The INC has a historical presence in Lakshadweep and has been one of the major political players in the region. It has contested elections in the Union Territory, advocating for principles of secularism, social welfare, and inclusive development.
  • JD(U) (Janata Dal United): The JD(U), a political party with roots in socialist ideology, has a limited presence in Lakshadweep. It has contested elections in the region on platforms emphasizing social justice, economic development, and governance reforms.
  • CPI (Communist Party of India): The CPI, a leftist political party, has a presence in Lakshadweep advocating for socialist principles, workers' rights, and land reforms.
  • CPI (M) (Communist Party of India - Marxist): The CPI (M), a Marxist political party, has a presence in Lakshadweep with a focus on progressive policies, secularism, and grassroots activism.

Last Updated on :

Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2024 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our X account, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2024 General Elections. The result will be announced on 4th June this year.