Track Your Constituency

Nagaland General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Nagaland General Election Results

Map of Nagaland Parliamentary Constituencies

Nagaland Parliamentary Constituencies Nagaland Lok Sabha
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Nagaland State. Disclaimer

Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Nagaland is an Indian state lying in the north-eastern part of the country. With an area of 16,579 sq. kilometres, it is counted among the smallest states in the country. Here, the population is mainly Christian and the official language of the state is English. A mostly mountainous state, this state is rich in flora and fauna.

Parliamentary Seats

The state has a lone constituency in the Lower House, the Nagaland Lok Sabha constituency. It has 60 seats in the Legislative Assembly.

Major Political Parties

The parties active in Nagaland election are:
  • Democratic Progressive Party (Nagaland)
  • Naga National Democratic Party
  • Naga People's Front (NPF)
  • Nagaland Congress
  • Nationalist Democratic Movement
  • Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)
  • United Naga Democratic Party
Election History

The first Lok Sabha elections in the state took place in 1967. S. C. Jamir of Nagaland Nationalist Organisation became the first member of parliament (MP). He was elected unopposed. The 23rd Amendment of the Constitution of India in 1969 disallowed the reservation of the seat for ST (Scheduled Tribes) people. Jamir was subsequently defeated in the elections of 1971 by United Front of Nagaland party's candidate A. Kevichusa. In the 1977 elections, United Democratic Front's Rano M. Shaiza was elected.

Chingwang, an independent candidate, emerged victorious in the 1980 elections. He later joined INC (Indian National Congress) and contested the election on INC ticket in the 1984 elections and won. In the 1989 elections, INC's Shikino Sam turned victorious. Imchalemba served the post of MP from the year 1991 to 1998. He switched his party from Nagaland Peoples Council to INC during the course. From 1998–2004, INC's K. Asungba Sangtam stayed in power. Since the year 2004, the winning candidate has been from the Nagaland Peoples Front. From 2004-09, the seat has been held by W. Wangyuh Konyak. In 2009, C. M. Chang won the election battle. In 2014, Neiphiu Rio won the contest for the Nagaland Lok Sabha seat, and remined the MP till February 28, 2018. However, following the 13th Nagaland legislative assembly elections, NDPP won 17 seats, and managed to form an alliance with the BJP. Neiphiu Rio was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Nagaland on March 8, 2018.

Famous Political Personalities

This state has given India many remarkable political personalities. Some important politicians from the state are:

Shilu Ao: He played an important part in negotiations that ultimately led to the creation of the Nagaland state. During the process, he faced severe criticism and had a hard time persuading the government to grant Nagaland its statehood. His hard work finally met success. Later, he became the first CM of the state and held the post till 1966.

Hokishe Sema: He has been the CM of the state 4 times. In the past, he has also served as Himachal Pradesh's Governor. He made a tremendous contribution to Naga People’s Convention's drafting committee.

S.C Jamir: Jamir has stayed the Chief Minister of the state for the longest time in the history of Nagaland. He has been elected for the post 5 times. Jamir is also considered one of the most popular leaders of the state. For the 16th Point Agreement (which began the creation of Nagaland), he was one of the key signatories. He is also counted among the state's modern architects.

Neiphiu Rio: The current CM of the state, Rio is also a very popular leader in Nagaland. He is the only one to be elected consecutively for three terms. He is currently the head of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.

Assembly Constituencies in Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency
Dimapur-ITuli (ST)Tizit (ST)
Dimapur-II (ST)Arkakong (ST)Wakching (ST)
Dimapur-III (ST)Impur (ST)Tapi (ST)
Ghaspani-I (ST)Angetyongpang (ST)Phomching (ST)
Ghaspani-II (ST)Mongoya (ST)Tehok (ST)
Tenning (ST)Aonglenden (ST)Mon Town (ST)
Peren (ST)Mokokchung Town (ST)Aboi (ST)
Western Angami (ST)Koridang (ST)Moka (ST)
Kohima Town (ST)Jangpetkong (ST)Tamlu (ST)
Northern Angami-I (ST)Alongtaki (ST)Longleng (ST)
Northern Angami-II (ST)Akuluto (ST)Noksen (ST)
Tseminyu (ST)Atoizu (ST)Longkhim Chare (ST)
Pughoboto (ST)Suruhoto (ST)Tuensang Sadar-I (ST)
Southern Angami-I (ST)Aghunato (ST)Tuensang Sadar-II (ST)
Southern Angami-II (ST)Zunheboto (ST)Tobu (ST)
Pfutsero (ST)Satakha (ST)Noklak (ST)
Chizami (ST)Tyui (ST)Thonoknyu (ST)
Chazouba (ST)Wokha (ST)Shamator Chessore (ST)
Phek (ST)Sanis (ST)Seyochung Sitimi (ST)
Meluri (ST)Bhandari (ST)Pungro Kiphire (ST)

Visit to get the latest Nagaland election updates, Nagaland elections 2019, Nagaland lok sabha seats 2019, Nagaland general elections news update and many more.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs: 1
No. of Polling Days: 1
Polling Dates: 11 April (Phase 1)
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 54 lakhs

  Nagaland Parliamentary Constituencies  

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations