Maharashtra Districts Map

Click any District on the map and get the detailed District Map

Districts Map of Maharashtra

Click here for Customized Maps
Maharashtra District Map Kolhapur City Map Ahmednagar Map City Map Mumbai City Map Latur City Map Nashik City Map Beed City Map Akola City Map Amravati City Map Pune City Map Sangli City Map Nagpur City Map Aurangabad City Map Thane District Map Mumbai Suburban Alibag City Map Nanded City Map Raigarh Ratnagiri Sindhudurg Kolhapur Satara Sangli Solapur Pune Ahmadnagar Aurangabad Nashik Dhule Nandurbar Jalgaon Buldhana Jalna Beed Osmanabad Latur Parbhani Nanded Hingoli Washim Yavatmal Akola Amravati Wardha Nagpur Bhandara Gondia Chandrapur Gadchiroli DADAR & NAGAR HAVELI DAMAN & DIU GUJARAT MADHYA PRADESH MADHYA PRADESH CHHATISGARH ANDHRA PRADESH KARANATAKA GOA
Print Email Save   Buy Now 
*The Map showing All the Districts in the State Maharashtra, India. Disclaimer

Maharashtra, located in Western India is one of the country's wealthiest states and contributes around 15% of the countries industrial output (2006-07 figures).
The state covers an area of 307,731 km square and has a population of 112,372, 972 (2011 census). Mumbai is the capital of Maharashtra and is also the largest city and financial capital of India. It's neighbouring states are Madhya Pradesh , Chhattisgarh , Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh. Nagpur and Pune are other important cities in the state. Marathi is the official language of Maharashtra.

Maharashtra is divided into 35 districts and 6 administrative divisions, namely; Mumbai (Konkan), Nashik, Aurangabad, Amravali and Nagpur. The 35 districts are divided into 109 sub-divisions and 357 taluks.

Famous tourist destinations in Maharashtra include the capital city of Mumbai, which is also known as the New York City/Los Angeles of the East and is popular for the Hindi film industry, Bollywood. This buzzing city has many tourist attractions such as the Gateway of India, Bandra-Worli Sea link, Juhu Beach and the Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus among others. Aurangabad, also known as the tourism capital of Maharashtra is known for its ancient Ajanta and Ellora caves, Nagpur is known for producing some of India's finest oranges, Nashik is known for its temples and Ratnagiri by the coast is famous for its delicious mangoes.

List of Districts of Maharashtra

S.noDistrictHeadquartersPopulation (as of 2011 census)
1Ahmednagar Ahmednagar4543083
2Akola Akola1818617
3Amravati Amravati2887826
4Aurangabad Aurangabad3695928
6Bhandara Bhandara1198810
7Buldana Buldana2588039
8Chandrapur Chandrapur2194262
9Dhule Dhule2048781
10Gadchiroli Gadchiroli1071795
11Gondia Gondia1322331
12Hingoli Hingoli1178973
13Jalgaon Jalgaon4224442
14Jalna Jalna1958483
15Kolhapur Kolhapur3874015
16Latur Latur2455543
17Mumbai City Mumbai3145966
18Mumbai Suburban Mumbai9332481
19Nagpur Nagpur4653171
20Nanded Nanded3356566
21Nandurbar Nandurbar 1646177
22Nashik Nashik6109052
23Osmanabad Osmanabad1660311
24Parbhani Parbhani1835982
25Pune Pune9426959
26Raigarh Alibaug2635394
27Ratnagiri Ratnagiri1612672
28Sangli Sangli2820575
29Satara Satara3003922
30Sindhudurg Oras848868
31Solapur Solapur4315527
32Thane Thane11054131
33Wardha Wardha1296157
34Washim Washim1196714
35Yavatmal Yavatmal2775457

District Administration in Maharashtra: Each district of Maharashtra is headed by a Deputy Commissioner who is in charge of the administration of that particular district. Being the highest administrative authority, the Deputy Commissioner has to carry out various disciplinary responsibilities as Deputy Commissioner, District Magistrate and Collector.

As a Deputy Commissioner he is in charge of the overall functioning of the district, as a District Magistrate he oversees the law and order condition and as a Collector he is responsible for revenue collection and recovery.

Last Updated on : 12/22/2012