Gondia District Map

Click any neighbouring District/State on the Map and get the Detailed Map

District Map of Gondia

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Gondia CHHATISGARH MADHYA PRADESH Bhandara Chandrapur Gadchiroli
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Gondia District Map highlights the National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc in Gondia. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Maharashtra  
Pune District Map Aurangabad District Map Nagpur District Map Kolhapur District Map
Pune District MapAurangabad District MapNagpur District MapKolhapur District Map
Nashik District Map Satara  District Map Jalgaon District Map Ratnagiri District Map
Nashik District MapSatara District MapJalgaon District MapRatnagiri District Map
  other districts of Maharashtra >>

Gondia District is situated in the western Indian state of Maharashtra. It was created out of the Bhandara district. It is located in the north-eastern part of the state and is bordered by the states of and Madhya Pradesh. Gondia District Map is useful to people embarking on travel to Gondia .

The headquarters of the district is Gondia town, which is located on the Mumbai- Kolkata railway route. The state capital, Mumbai is 1060 kilometers from here. Nagpur is 130 kilometers by rail and 170 kilometers by road. There are road links to the districts of Bhandara and Chandrapur as well.

The district is surrounded by Balaghat district of Madhya Pradesh in the north and Rajnandgaon district of Chhattisgarh in the east. The Bhandara district and Chandrapur district of Maharashtra are to the west and south.

Gondia District is divided into two subdivisions - Deori and Gondia. Each of these subdivisions has 556 Grampanchayat, 4 talukas and 954 revenue villages.

In total the district is divided into 8 Panchayat Samitis and 8 talukas. Gondia and Tiroda are the only two municipalities.

The district has a population of around 1200151 according to 2001 census. The population of males is around 598447 and that of females is around 601704. There are six legislative assembly constituencies in the district. These are Amgaon, Lakhandur, Tiroda, Goregaon, Gondia and Sakoli.

The town of Gondia is known as 'rice city' because of its numerous rice mills. The main crop is paddy. Other agricultural produce includes wheat, jawar, Linseed and tur.

There are a number of tourist destinations in Gondia District like Nawegaon National Park, Padampur, Nagra, Kachargadh, Kamta, Dakram Sukdi, Itiadoh, Nagzira Sanctuary, Hazara Fall and Chulbandh.

Last Updated on : 25/04/2013