Districts of Maharashtra

Akola District Map Amravati District Map Aurangabad District Map Bhandara District Map
Akola District MapAmravati District MapAurangabad District MapBhandara District Map
Beed District Map Buldhana District Map Chandrapur District Map Osmanabad District Map
Beed District MapBuldhana District MapChandrapur District MapOsmanabad District Map
Dhule District Map Gadchiroli District Map Gondia District Map Ahmednagar District Map
Dhule District MapGadchiroli District MapGondia District MapAhmednagar District Map
Mumbai District Map Hingoli District Map Jalgaon District Map Jalna District Map
Mumbai District MapHingoli District MapJalgaon District MapJalna District Map
Kolhapur District Map Latur District Map Mumbai Suburban District Map Nagpur District Map
Kolhapur District MapLatur District MapMumbai Suburban District MapNagpur District Map
Nanded District Map Nandurbar District Map Nashik District Map Parbhani District Map
Nanded District MapNandurbar District MapNashik District MapParbhani District Map
Pune District Map Raigad District Map Ratnagiri District Map Sangli District Map
Pune District MapRaigad District MapRatnagiri District MapSangli District Map
Satara District Map Sindhudurg District Map Solapur District Map Thane District Map
Satara District MapSindhudurg District MapSolapur District MapThane District Map
Wardha District Map Washim District Map Yavatmal District Map
Wardha District MapWashim District MapYavatmal District Map

Click on the Map to Get Clickable District Map
Maharashtra Districts

Maharashtra, one of India's largest states, spread over 3, 07,713 square kilometres, is located between latitude 20°N and longitude 76°E.

Maharashtra is bounded by the Arabian Sea in the west, making it a state with a long coastline. It touches Gujarat and the Union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli in the north-west, Madhya Pradesh in the north, Chhattisgarh in the east, and Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, and Goa in the south.

The state is divided into thirty-four districts, each with a district headquarter. Mumbai, the state capital and a port city, is one of the country's largest cities as well as an important financial hub. Other important cities are Pune, Nagpur, and Nashik.

The Western Ghats or Sahyadris lies in the west of the state. The terrain here is hilly and south flowing rivers such as Godavari originate from the hills. The Konkan coastal plains lie to the west of the Sahyadris. The eastern part of the state is part of the Deccan Plateau.

Geographically and culturally Maharashtra is divided into five regions. The Vidarbha region includes the eastern districts such as Nagpur, Chandrapur, Wardha, Amravati, Akola, Buldhana, and Yavatmal. The area here is forested and many wildlife sanctuaries are located here. Central districts such as Aurangabad, Latur, Nanded, Jalna, Beed, Osmanabad, Hingoli are part of Marathwada region. Some districts such as Mumbai City, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Thane, and Sindhudurg are part of the Konkan region. Districts such as Nasik, Jalgaon, Ahmednagar, Dhule, and Nandurbar are part of the Khandesh region. Pune, Satara, Kohlapur, Sangli, and Solapur come in the Desh region.

List of Districts in Maharashtra

Sr. No.DistrictDistrict HQPopulation (2011)GrowthSex RatioLiteracyArea (km2)Density (/km2)
17Mumbai City*3085411-7.57%83289.216920038
18Mumbai SuburbanBandra(East)93569628.29%86089.9136920925

Last Updated on : January 5, 2018



Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...
Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations