Wardha District Map

Click any neighbouring District/State on the Map and get the Detailed Map

District Map of Wardha

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Wardha Nagpur Amravati Yavatmal Chandrapur
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*The Map showing National Highways,District headquarter, Major and other Roads, etc in Wardha District, Maharashtra Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Maharashtra  
Pune District Map Aurangabad District Map Nagpur District Map Kolhapur District Map
Pune District MapAurangabad District MapNagpur District MapKolhapur District Map
Nashik District Map Satara  District Map Jalgaon District Map Ratnagiri District Map
Nashik District MapSatara District MapJalgaon District MapRatnagiri District Map
  other districts of Maharashtra >>

Wardha District is located in the state of Maharashtra in western India. Until 1862, Wardha was part of the Nagpur District. Later it was separated and its headquarters was established near Pulgaon at Kaotha. In 1866 the headquarter town of Wardha was established on the site of the hamlet of Palakwadi. Wardha District Map is very useful for those traveling to Wardha.

Wardha District is situated in the north eastern part of the state. The district is bordered to the north and west by the Amravati district and by the Yavatmal district to the south. In the east it is bordered by Nagpur district and by Chandrapur district in the south east.

Along with the districts of Nagpur, Gadchiroli, Bhandara and Chandrapur, the district is also part of the Nagpur Revenue division. Wardha District is subdivided into three subdivisions namely Wardha, Hinganghat and Arvi. The district has 507 Gram Panchayats, 1387 villages and 6 Municipal towns.

The district has a population of about 12, 30,640 according to the census of 2001 . The population of males is around 6,35,751 while that of females is 5, 94,889. There are four legislative assembly constituencies namely Pulgaon, Wardha, Arvi and Hinganghat in the district.

There are a number of tourist destinations in the district like Kelzer, Vishwa Shanti Stup, Gitai Mandir, Gandhi Gyan Mandir, Sewagram- Bapu Kuti, Paunar - Paramdham Ashram, Bor Dam, Garpit, Magan Sangrahalaya, Laxmi Narayana Temple, Bajajwadi, Bor Reserved Forest, Mahakali and Pohana. Sewagram- Bapu Kuti is where Mahatma Gandhi stayed and continued his freedom struggle.

Last Updated on : 25/04/2013