Track Your Constituency

Chandigarh General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014

Chandigarh General Election Results

Map of Chandigarh Parliamentary Constituencies

Chandigarh Parliamentary Constituencies Chandigarh Lok Sabha
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Chandigarh. Disclaimer

Chandigarh Lok Sabha Election 2014 Dates

*Chandigarh polling date: 10 April (Phase 3)

PC No.PC NameCategoryIssue of NotificationLast Date for filing NominationsScrutiny of NominationsLast date for withdrawal of CandidaturePolling DateCounting of VotesDate before which the election shall be Completed
1ChandigarhGEN13 Mar20 Mar21 Mar24 Mar10 April16 May28 May

Chandigarh is a Union Territory located in northern India. It is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana. It is the first planned city of post-independent India and is noted for its architecture and design. It has the highest per capita income and highest HDI rank among all states and Union Territories of India. The city ranks second in population density and eighth in literacy, in the country. However, it has the lowest male-female sex ratio in the country.

Member Representation at the Centre

Chandigarh has only one parliamentary constituency which covers the entire area of the UT. It does not send any member to the Rajya Sabha.

Chandigarh does not have a legislative assembly of its own. It is under direct administration of the federal government. The President appoints the Administrator of Chandigarh who represents the Union Government in the UT.

Political Parties

The important national-level parties in Chandigarh are :
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
  • Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
  • Regional parties active in the UT are:
  • Samajwadi Party (SP)
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (Ambedkar) [BSP(A)]
  • Indian National Lok Dal (INLD)
  • Indian Justice Party (IJP)

Election History

The Indian National Congress is the most successful party in the parliamentary elections from Chandigarh. It has won the seat in the 7th, 8th, 10th, 13th, 14th and 15th Lok Sabha elections. The Janata Party won the seat in the sixth Lok Sabha elections, the first one to be held in Chandigarh while the Janata Dal won in the 1989 elections. The BJP won the seat for two consecutive times in 1996 and 1998.

Prominent Political Personalities

Chandigarh went to polls on 10 April 2014. Till date, BSP and INC have named their candidate for the Lok Sabha polls, while BJP and AAP are yet to do so.

Some important political leaders from Chandigarh are:
  • Krishan Kant : He was a famous Indian freedom fighter and was the tenth Vice President of India. He was the first MP from Chandigarh and won on a Janata Party ticket.

  • Jagan Nath Kaushal : He is an important politician of INC and represented Chandigarh in the seventh and eighth Lok Sabha. He was a former Law Minister and a former Governor of Bihar.

  • Satya Pal Jain : He is a member of the BJP and represented Chandigarh in the 11th and 12th Lok Sabha. A lawyer by profession; he is also the Chairperson of the National Committee for Legal Affairs & Election Commission Issues and the National Legal Working Group.

  • Har Mohan Dhawan : He represented Chandigarh in the ninth Lok Sabha as a member of the Janata Dal. He was a Union Minister of Civil Aviation during Chandra Shekhar's regime. He is currently a member of the INLD.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs: 1
No. of Polling Days: 1
Polling Dates: 10 April (Phase 3)
No. of Polling Stations: 490
No. of Polling Station locations: 205
Total Electors: 5,80,700 (as on 3rd January 2014)
Electors in Age Group 18 to 25 years: 19.03%
Women Electors: 45.7%
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 54 lakhs

Chandigarh Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1ChandigarhGENPawan Kumar BansalMINC161042

Last Updated on : June 18, 2014




Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations