Track Your Constituency

Dadra & Nagar Haveli General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014

Dadra Nagar Haveli General Election Results

Map of Dadra & Nagar Haveli Parliamentary Constituencies

Dadra & Nagar Haveli Parliamentary Constituencies Dadra Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Dadra & Nagar Haveli State. Disclaimer

Dadra & Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha Election 2014 Dates

*Dadra and Nagar Haveli polling date: 30 April (Phase 7)

PC No.PC NameCategoryIssue of NotificationLast Date for filing NominationsScrutiny of NominationsLast date for withdrawal of CandidaturePolling DateCounting of VotesDate before which the election shall be Completed
1Dadra And Nagar Haveli(ST)2 April9 April10 April12 April30 April16 May28 May

The Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is located in western India. While Dadra is an enclave surrounded on all sides by Gujarat, Nagar Haveli is located between Maharashtra and Gujarat. The UT was earlier under Portuguese control, but was merged with India on 2 August 1954 as one nation. Dadra and Nagar Haveli formally became a part of the Indian Union on 11 August 1961.

It is India's fourth largest Union Territory in terms of area, and has a population density of 700/km2 (1,800/sq mi). Tribal groups constitute the majority of the population.

Representation at the Centre

Dadra and Nagar Haveli is represented in the Lok Sabha by only one member. The Union Territory has no representative in the Rajya Sabha.

It does not have a state legislative assembly or an elected government of its own. The Administrator of the Union Territory who is appointed by the President is responsible for its administration.

Political Parties

Many national-level parties have their presence in Dadra and Nagar Haveli. They are:
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)]
  • Regional parties who are active in the Union Territory include:
  • Samajwadi Party (SP)
  • Shiv Sena
  • Bharatiya Navashakti Party
  • Independent Candidates

Election History

Dadra and Nagar Haveli is an important parliamentary constituency for the INC as the party has won from this seat the maximum number of times. One interesting fact about this constituency is that it has elected independent candidates as its representative a couple of times.

The first Lok Sabha elections that were held in Dadra and Nagar Haveli were the 1967 elections. The INC won the seat and retained it in the 1971, 1977 and 1980 elections. In the 1984 elections, it lost the seat to an independent candidate. Independent candidates won the seat again in 1989 and 1999 elections. INC reclaimed the seat in 1991 elections and won again in the 1996 elections. Bharatiya Janata Party won the constituency in 1998, and again in recent 2009 elections. In the 2004 elections, a candidate from the Bharatiya Navashakti Party was the winner.

Prominent Political Personalities

Dadra and Nagar Haveli went to polls on 30 April 2014. Some important politicians from Dadra and Nagar Haveli are:
  • Sanjibhai Rupjibhai Delkar : He was a politician of the Indian National Congress and the first representative to the Lok Sabha from Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

  • Ramubhai Ravjibhai Patel : He was an important member of the INC. He won the 1971 and 1977 general elections and represented Dadra and Nagar Haveli in the Lok Sabha.

  • Ramji Potla Mahala : He is a politician of the INC and represented the Union Territory in the 7thLok Sabha.

  • Sitaram Jivyabhai Gavli : He contested the 8th Lok Sabha elections as an independent candidate and went on to represent Dadra and Nagar Haveli in the Lok Sabha. He is at present a member of the INC.

  • Natubhai Gomanbhai Patel : He is a BJP leader and represented Dadra and Nagar Haveli in the 15th Lok Sabha.

  • Mohanbhai Sanjibhai Delkar : He started his career as a trade union leader. He is a six-time MP from Dadra and Nagar Haveli and represented the Union Territory from 1989 to 2004. He has changed his political affiliations a couple of times and is currently a member of the INC.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs :1
No. of Polling Days :1
Polling Dates :30 April (Phase 7)
No. of Polling Stations :163
No. of Polling Station locations :104
Total Electors :1,88,783 (as on 7th March 2014)
Electors in Age Group 18 to 25 years :26.33%
Women Electors :46.36%
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate :Rs. 54 lakhs

Dadra And Nagar Haveli Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Dadra And Nagar Haveli(ST)Natubhai Gomanbhai Patel MBJP51242

Last Updated on : June 18, 2014




Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations