Track Your Constituency

Daman & Diu General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014

Daman and Diu General Election Results

Map of Daman & Diu Parliamentary Constituencies

Daman & Diu Parliamentary Constituencies Daman & Diu Lok Sabha
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Daman & Diu State. Disclaimer

Daman & Diu Lok Sabha Election 2014 Dates

*Daman and Diu polling date: 30 April (Phase 7)

PC No.PC NameCategoryIssue of NotificationLast Date for filing NominationsScrutiny of NominationsLast date for withdrawal of CandidaturePolling DateCounting of VotesDate before which the election shall be Completed
1Daman And DiuGEN2 April9 April10 April12 April30 April16 May28 May

Daman and Diu is a Union Territory of India, situated on the coast of the Arabian Sea. It was a part of Portuguese India along with Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Goa for over 450 years.

It joined the Indian Union on 19 December 1961. Portugal however, recognised the annexation of these territories by India only in 1974. Daman and Diu, and Goa were administered as a single Union Territory till 1987. In 1987, after Goa became the 25th state of India, Daman and Diu was also granted the status of a Union Territory.

Daman and Diu is the fifth largest Union Territory and is divided into two districts, Daman and Diu which are located at a distance of 197 kilometers from each other. Daman and Diu is one of the least populated regions in India. It also has the lowest male-female sex ratio in India.

Representation at the Centre

Daman and Diu has just one parliamentary constituency that covers the entire area of the Union Territory. It does not elect any member to the Rajya Sabha.

The Union Territory does have an elected government. The administration of the UT is carried out by an Administrator, appointed by the President of India. He acts as a representative of the Central Government in Daman and Diu.

Political Parties

The following national-level political parties have their presence in Daman and Diu :
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Election History

After the implementation of the Reorganisation of Goa, and the Daman and Diu Act in 1987, the Daman and Diu parliamentary constituency was created. In 1987, elections to the Lok Sabha were held from this constituency for the first time. INC won the seat, but lost it to an independent candidate in the 1989 elections. It won the seat again in the 1996, 1999 and 2004 elections. BJP won the seat in 1991, 1998 and in the last Lok Sabha elections as well. The BJP and INC have had a divided share in giving a Lok Sabha member to the UT.

Prominent Political Personalities

The 16th Lok Sabha polls were held on 30 April 2014. A prominent leader from Daman and Diu is:
  • Lalubhai Babubhai Patel : He is a politician of the Bharatiya Janata party. He is also a member of the Committee on Home Affairs.

  • Other famous politicians Daman and Diu are:

  • Tandel Gopalbhai Kalyanbhai : He was the first Lok Sabha member from Daman and Diu. He is at present a member of the Nationalist Congress party (NCP).

  • Tandel Devji Jogibhai : He is an important politician of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He represented Daman and Diu in the 9th, 10th and 12th Lok Sabha.

  • Patel Dahyabhai Vallabhbhai : He is a member of the INC. He represented Daman and Diu in the 14th Lok Sabha.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs :1
No. of Polling Days :1
Polling Dates :30 April (Phase 7)
No. of Polling Stations :119
No. of Polling Station locations :92
Total Electors :1,02,260 (as on 11th February 2014)
Electors in Age Group 18 to 25 years :26.48%
Women Electors :51.71%
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate :Rs. 54 lakhs

Daman And Diu Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Daman And DiuGENLalubhai PatelMBJP44546

Last Updated on : June 18, 2014




Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations