Track Your Constituency

Meghalaya General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Meghalaya General Election Results

Map of Meghalaya Parliamentary Constituencies

Meghalaya Parliamentary Constituencies Tura Lok Sabha Shillong Lok Sabha
Print Email Save   Buy Now

*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Meghalaya State. Disclaimer

Meghalaya Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Meghalaya Lok Sabha Election 2014 Dates

*Meghalaya polling date: 09 April (Phase 2)

PC No.PC NameCategoryIssue of NotificationLast Date for filing NominationsScrutiny of NominationsLast date for withdrawal of CandidaturePolling DateCounting of VotesDate before which the election shall be Completed
1Shillong(ST)15 Mar22 Mar24 Mar26 Mar09 Apr16 May28 May
2Tura(ST)15 Mar22 Mar24 Mar26 Mar09 Apr16 May28 May

About Meghalaya

In the lap of nature, Meghalaya is one of the four tribal dominated states of the North Eastern Region of India. Formed on 21 January 1972, the name Meghalaya literally means 'the abode of clouds' in Sanskrit. Bound by Bangladesh and Assam, the state boasts its forestry, agriculture and tourism. Originally a part of the state of Assam, Meghalaya consists of the Garo Hills, the United Jaintia and the Khasi Hill districts. The state is gifted with great mineral wealth, but its utilisation for expansion has been negligible. Traditionally known as the 'Scotland of the East', the state has attracted tourists from all over the world, which in turn has steadied Meghalaya's economy.

Member Representation at the Centre

Meghalaya has a unicameral government. As per the latest update on Meghalaya, its members to the 60 seat Legislative Assembly are elected every five years. Meghalaya Lok Sabha seats are two and only one seat to the Rajya Sabha. Under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution, Meghalaya has three district councils - the Khasi, Jaintia and Garo Hills. In addition to the Assembly Elections, the state also holds elections for these district councils. The state has two parliamentary constituencies, Shillong and Tura, which are reserved for the Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.

Ruling Party and the Constitution

Though the Governor is the constitutional head of the state, the real executive powers lies in the hands of the Chief Minister and his Cabinet. The current Governor of Manipur is Krishnan Kant Paul. The incumbent Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, representing the Congress party, has ruled the roost in the state since 2010.

Election History

After its inauguration as a state of India in 1970, Meghalaya election saw a fierce race of governance between the Congress and the United Democratic Party (Meghalaya). The state has been under the President's rule twice, in 1992 and 2009. The first Chief Minister of the state was All Party Hill Leaders' Conference's (APHLC), W A Sangma. Under the APHLC's banner, he governed the state in 1976 too. However, he joined hands with the INC in November 1976, and lead the party in the state till 1978. He was re-elected in 1981 and 1983.

The Congress has governed the state for 13 terms since its formation, with Chief Minister Mukul Sangma presiding over his second term. Mukul Sangma faced stiff opposition from P A Sangma, who quit the NCP to form the National People's Party in 2013.

The 2014 polls were the state's 11th Lok Sabha elections. Since its formation, the first General Elections were held in 1977. The Congress has led the state since then, and did not lose a single Lok Sabha election. The last General Elections saw the Congress and NCP bag one seat each. Currently, Congress' Vincent H Pala and NCP's Agatha K Sangma, are the sitting MPs for the Shilliong and Tura constituencies, respectively.

Political Parties
  • Indian National Congress (INC) : The Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee is a wing of the INC for the state. The party is headed by D D Lapang. Daryl William Cheran Momin, was the front runner for the Congress ticket for the Tura Lok Sabha seat, which is considered as PA Sangma's stronghold.

  • National People's Party (NPP) : Formed in 2013 by P A Sangma, the NPP has been expanding its base in Meghalaya by forging an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Sangma announced the new party after he was expelled by the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in July 2012, after he refused to quit the Indian presidential elections.

  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) : The Sharad Pawar-led party has strong functioning units all across the country. The party's overall vision has been equality and social justice. Agatha K Sangma represented the NCP in the Tura constituency.

  • Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) : Led by Hoping Stone Lyngdoh, the HSPDP is one of the official parties of Meghalaya. The party's main aim is to attain a separate Ri Khasi Jaintia State under Article 371 of the Indian constitution.

Prominent Political Leaders
  • Mukul Sangma : The current Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Mukul Sangma has been a prominent Congress member. A physician by profession, Sangma joined politics in 1993 as an independent candidate from the Ampatigiri constituency. He governed the constituency in 1998, 2003 and 2008 after joining the Indian National Congress. After facing stiff competition from PA Sangma, he took over as the Chief Minister on 20 April 2010. In the 2013 state elections, Congress emerged as the single largest party with 29 seats thereby making way for his re-election.

  • P A Sangma : The founder of the National People's Party (NPP), PA Sangma was once a mainstay of the NCP. However, he part ways with party, after fierce opposition over his presidential candidature. He has served as the Lok Sabha Speaker from 1996 to 1998. He also served as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya from 1988 to 1990. In the 2013 state polls the NPP, which forged an alliance with the BJP, had a wobbly start with just two seats in its kitty. Representing the Tura constituency, Sangma remained a member of the Lok Sabha for eight terms.

  • Agatha Sangma : The daughter of veteran P A Sangma, Agatha was a Member of the Parliament, where she represented the Tura constituency under the NCP banner. The youngest minister in the UPA-2 government, Agatha is a law graduate and pursued her Masters in Environmental Management from Nottingham University. She entered into national politics in 2008.

Visit to get the latest Meghalaya election updates, Meghalaya elections 2019, Meghalaya lok sabha seats 2019, Meghalaya general elections news update and many more.
  • The ECI website
  • The CEO Meghalaya website

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs: 2
No. of Polling Days: 1
Polling Dates: 09 April (Phase 2)
No. of Polling Stations: 2,562
No. of Polling Station locations: 2,165
Total Electors: 15,53,028 (as on 28th January 2014)
Electors in Age Group 18 to 25 years: 22.62%
Women Electors: 50.43%
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 70 lakhs

Meghalaya Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Shillong(ST)Vincent H PalaMINC232270
2Tura(ST)Agatha K. SangmaFNCP154476

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Meghalaya  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.