Track Your Constituency

Tripura General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Tripura General Election Results

Map of Tripura Parliamentary Constituencies

Tripura Parliamentary Constituencies West Tripura East Tripura
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Tripura State. Disclaimer

Tripura Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Tripura is a state located in northeast India. It is the third smallest Indian state area-wise and is home to only 0.3% of India's population, according to the 2011 Census. Bengali and Kokborok are among the most spoken languages in as many as 19 tribes and a few sub-tribes prevalent in the state. It was a princely state during the British rule and became a part of India in 1949. It initially had the status of a Union Territory (UT) but was granted statehood on 21 January 1972.

Member Representation at the Centre

There are two Lok Sabha constituencies in Tripura namely Tripura East and Tripura West. According to the lates Tripura election updates, Tripura East is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes (ST). The state is represented by a single member in the Rajya Sabha.

The state legislature is unicameral and has 60 members. As Tripura is a state under the Sixth Schedule, it has an autonomous district council - The Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council. The council deals with various aspects of local governance and development in areas with tribal majority.

Political Parties

The following national parties have their presence in Tripura :
  • Communist Party of India ( Marxist) [CPI(M)]
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
The state-level parties active in the state are:
  • All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC)
  • Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT)
  • People's Democratic Front (PDF)
  • National Conference of Tripura (NCT)
  • National Socialist Party of Tripura
  • Tripura Ganatantrik Manch (TGM)

Election History

The political scene of Tripura has been dominated by the CPI(M) and INC. Though the CPI(M) has emerged as the most powerful party in the state in recent times. The INC won the first three assembly elections and was in power from 1963 to 1971 and from 1972 to 1977. From 1977 to 1978 the state witnessed political instability. The short-lived Janata Dal and left coalition government gave two Chief Ministers within a span of eight months. In the elections held in 1978, the CPI(M) came to power for the first time. The Left rule was followed by five years of Congress rule from 1988 to 1993. In the seventh assembly elections held in 1993, CPI(M) emerged victorious and has been in power in the state since then by winning the 8th, 9th and 10th assembly elections as well.

In the elections to the Lok Sabha, Communist Party of India (CPI) won both seats in the 1952 and 1962 elections, while in the 1957 elections CPI and INC won one seat each. INC won both the seats in the 4th Lok Sabha elections held in 1967. In the 5th, 7th and 8th Lok Sabha elections, the CPI(M) claimed both seats while in the 6th Lok Sabha, the seats were divided between INC and Congress for Democracy (CFD) party. The INC won both constituencies in the 9th and 10th Lok Sabha elections. CPI(M) made a comeback in the 11th Lok Sabha elections by winning both seats and has repeated this feat in the 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th and 16th Lok Sabha elections as well.

Prominent Political Personalities

  • BJP: Shri Rebati Tripura, Shri Pratima Bhaumik
  • INC: Ms Pragya Deb Burman, Subal Bhowmick
  • AITC: Maman Khan
  • CPI(M): Jitendra Chowdhury, Sankar Prasad Datta
Famous Politicians
  • Sachindra Lal Singh: He was a leader of the INC and the first Chief Minister of Tripura. He was in power from 1963 to 1971. He became a leader of the Congress for Democracy Party in 1977, and represented his state in the sixth Lok Sabha.

  • Nripen Chakraborty: He is an important leader of the CPI(M). He started his political career in 1957 and was the Chief Minister of the state from 1978 to 1988. He was also the leader of the opposition in the state assembly from 1988 to 1993.

  • Biren Dutta: He is a prominent communist leader of Tripura. He represented the state in the 1st, 3rd and 5th Lok Sabha from the Tripura West constituency.

  • Dasarath Deb: He was a leader of the CPI(M) and Ganamukti Parishad and represented Tripura East constituency in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 5th Lok Sabha. He was the Chief Minister of Tripura from 1993 to 1998 and till date is the only tribal Chief Minister of the state.

  • Manik Sarkar: He is a member of the CPI(M) politburo and has been the Chief Minister of Tripura since 1998. He started his political career as a student leader and joined CPI(M) in 1972. He is the longest serving Chief Minister of the state.

Visit to get the latest Tripura election updates, Tripura elections 2019, Tripura lok sabha seats 2019, Tripura general elections news update and many more.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs: 2
No. of Polling Days:2
Polling Dates:11 April (Phase 1) and 18 April (Phase 2 - cancelled)
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs.70 lakhs

Tripura Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Tripura WestGENKhagen DasMCPI (M)563799
2Tripura East(ST)Baju Ban RiyanMCPI (M)521084

  Parliamentary Constituency in Tripura  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1Tripura West2Tripura East

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations