Track Your Constituency

Uttarakhand General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Uttarakhand General Election Results

Map of Uttarakhand Parliamentary Constituencies

Uttarakhand Parliamentary Constituencies Hardwar Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar Almora Garhwal Tehri Garhwal
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Uttarakhand State. Disclaimer

Uttarakhand Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

The state of Uttarakhand or formerly Uttaranchal came into existence on 9 November 2000 and is the 27th state of India. The state has two divisions, Kumaon and Garhwal that are divided into 13 districts. It is one of the fastest growing economies of India and with a per capita income that is higher than the national average.

Member Representation at the Centre

As per the Uttarakhand latest election update 2019, this state has five Lok Sabha constituencies. They are Nainital, Garhwal, Almora, Tehri Garhwal and Hardwar of which Almora is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SC). There is no reservation for Schedule Tribes (ST) candidates. The state sends three members to the Rajya Sabha.

The state legislative assembly is unicameral and has 70 members.

Political Parties

The main political parties active in Uttarakhand are:
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
  • Communist party of India (CPI)
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)]
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
State parties in Uttarakhand include:
  • Samajwadi Party (SP)
  • Janata Dal (Secular) [JD(S)]
  • Janata Dal (United) [JD(U)]
  • Samata Party (SAM)
  • Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)
Uttarakhand general election update 2019: Uttarakhand also has some registered but unrecognized political parties. Some of them are:
  • Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD)
  • Uttarakhand Janwadi Party (UJP)
  • Rashtriya Kranti Party
  • Rashtriya Kisan Party

Election History

  • Mala Raj Laxmi Shah : She is a politician of the Bharatiya Janata Party. She represented the Tehri Garhwal constituency. She is the first woman to be elected to the Lok Sabha from the state after its creation in 2000.

  • Satpal Maharaj : He is a member of the INC and started his political career in 1989. He represented the Garhwal constituency in the Lok Sabha.

  • Pradeep Tamta : He is a politician of the INC. He was a member of the state assembly from 2002 to 2007, and represented the Almora constituency in the Lok Sabha.

Famous Politicians
  • N D Tiwari : He is an important leader of the INC. He has served as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for three terms, and served as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand from 2002 to 2007. He is also a former Union Minister and was the Governor of Andhra Pradesh.

  • Nityanand Swami : He was a politician of the Bharatiya Janata Party and was the first Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. He was also the Chairman of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council from 1996 to 2000.

  • B C Khanduri : He is a politician of the BJP and served twice as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. He represented Garhwal in the Lok Sabha from 1991 to 2004 and was a Union Minister during the Vajpayee government.

  • Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank : He is a leader of the BJP and was the Chief Minister of the state from 2009 to 2011. He was elected to the UP Vidhan Sabha for the first time in 1991. He became the Minister for Uttaranchal Development in the UP government in 1997.

  • Vijay Bahuguna : He was the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand from March 2012 to January 2014. He also represented Tehri Garhwal in the 15th Lok Sabha and was the Vice Chairperson of the Planning Commission of Uttarakhand from 2002 to 2007.

  • Kashi Singh Airy : He is an important leader of the Uttarakhand movement and is the founder of the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD). He is also a former member of the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.

  • Harish Rawat : He is the current Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. A politician of the INC, he was first elected to the Lok Sabha in 1980 and was also a member of the 15th Lok Sabha. He is also a former member of the Rajya Sabha.

  • Harak Singh Rawat : He is a member of the INC and a current member of the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly. He was the Leader of the Opposition in the second Legislative Assembly of Uttarakhand.

Get the latest Uttarakhand election updates, live election updates, latest news updates 2019, Lok Sabha elections 2019 update and many more.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs : 5
No. of Polling Days : 1
Polling Dates : 07 May (Phase 8)
No. of Polling Stations : 10,062
No. of Polling Station locations : 7,549
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 70 lakhs

Uttarakhand Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Tehri GarhwalGENVijay BahugunaMINC263083
2GarhwalGENSatpal MaharajMINC236949
3Almora(SC)Pradeep TamtaMINC200824
4Nainital-Udhamsingh NagarGENK.C. Singh BabaMINC321377
5HardwarGENHarish RawatMINC332235

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Uttarakhand  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1Tehri Garhwal4Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.