Track Your Constituency

Manipur General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Manipur General Election Results

Map of Manipur Parliamentary Constituencies

Manipur Parliamentary Constituencies Inner Manipur Outer-Manipur
Print Email Save   Buy Now

*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Manipur State. Disclaimer

Manipur Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

After the 16th Lok Sabha polls, people of Manipur would hope for some pressing issues like the AFSPA (Armed Forces Special Powers Act) to be repealed, compromise on international borders, insurgency, expansion of policy discourse on minority in India, protection of women and children, inefficient healthcare etc, to be considered and taken care of.

According to the latest manipur updates, there are two parliamentary constituencies in the state, namely, Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur. Having a unicameral form of government, the state sends only one member to the Rajya Sabha and two members to the Lok Sabha.

Ruling Party and the Constitution

Though the Governor is the constitutional head of the state, the real executive powers lie in the hands of the Chief Minister and his Cabinet. The current Governor of Manipur is Najma Heptulla. The incumbent Chief Minister N. Biren Singh, representing BJP, has been in the position since 2017

Election History

Since its formation in 1972, the state of Manipur has seen a race of governance between the Congress and the Manipur People's Party (MPP). The state has been imposed with the President's rule ten times since 1963. The first Chief Minister of the state was MPP's Muhammad Alimuddin. Following its first State Election victory, the party went on to form the government in 1974 and 1992. The incumbent Congress governed the state for ten terms since its formation, with former Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh presiding over his third consecutive term.

The upcoming polls will be the state's 17th Lok Sabha elections 2019. The first elections were held in 1951, clinched by the Congress. The INC's winning streak was broken in 1967 by the Communist Party of India. However, the CPI's sweet victory didn't last long, as the INC made a winning return in the 1971 polls. It was in 1998 that the CPI managed to break through the Congress' stronghold. In 1999, the BJP clinched a victory, but could not make a mark in the state bringing the Congress back into power in the 2004 elections. In the 2009 general elections, Congress bagged both the constituencies, with a total of 13,39,399 valid votes. The 2014 Lok Sabha elections took place on 9 and 17 April in the state. Congress won from both the constituencies.

Political Parties
  • Indian National Congress (INC): The Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee is a wing of the INC for the state of Manipur. Headquartered in Imphal, the party is headed by Gaikhangam.

  • Manipur People's Party (MPP): Recognised as the oldest party in Manipur, the MPP is one of the many factions of the INC. After its poll debacle in the 2009 elections where it lost the only seat it contested, the MPP got into an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to withstand the Congress monopoly. The MPP ruled the state for two terms. However, unfortunately in 2013, the party was unrecognised as a Regional Party.

  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP): Formed in 1999, the NCP has strong functioning units all across the country. Led by Radhabinod Koijam, the party won the Manipur State Elections in 2007.

The other parties up for the Lok Sabha race are All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) and the Communist Party of India (CPI).

Prominent Political Leaders
  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs: 2
No. of Polling Days: 2
Polling Dates: 11 April (Phase 1), 18 April (Phase 2)
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 70 lakhs

Manipur Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Inner ManipurGENDr. Thokchom MeinyaMINC230876
2Outer Manipur(ST)Thangso BaiteMINC344517

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Manipur  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1Inner Manipur2Outer Manipur

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.