Making of Indian Constitution

Making of Indian Constitution was completed in the year 1949, on the 26th of November, by the Constituent Assembly. It took 2 years 11 months and 17 days to draft and finalize the Constitution of India. The very first meeting of the Indian Constituent Assembly took place in the year 1946, on the 9th of December. The assembly was reformed as the sovereign Constituent Assembly for the Dominion of India on the 14th August, 1947.The Making of Indian Constitution took several meetings of the three committees, namely, The Union Powers Committee, the Union Constitution Committee and the Committee on Fundamental Rights.

After observing the reports passed by these three committees, the Assembly went on to create a Drafting Committee, in the year 1947, on the 29th of August. The chairman of this Drafting Committee, as per the history of Indian Constitution, was Dr. B.R. Ambedkar. After becoming the chairman, Dr. Ambedkar passed proposals for a Draft Constitution of India. This Draft Constitution of India was finally passed after several meetings held during the months of October and November 1949.

On the 26th of November, in the year 1949, the Making of Indian Constitution was complete and was successfully passed after the signature of the President of the Assembly. The sections that came into immediate effect from the on the 26th of November 1949, were those related to the elections, citizenship, the provisional Parliament as well as the temporary and the transitional provisions. The sections that were left in the Indian Constitution were implemented on the 26th of January, in 1950.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations