Track Your Constituency

Assam General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2024 Latest News & Live Updates

Map of Assam Parliamentary Constituencies

separator Click Here Customized Maps arrow custom map
Assam Parliamentary Constituencies
Print Email Save   Buy Now

Northeastern India's state of Assam is located in the valleys of the Brahmaputra and Barak rivers, south of the eastern Himalayas. The total area of Assam is 78,438 kmĀ² (30,285 sq mi). Both in terms of territory and population, it is the largest state in northeastern India. There are 35 districts and 5 divisions in the state. The largest city in northeastern India is Guwahati, which also houses the state capital, Dispu

Assam General Elections 2024

In Assam, polling will take place on April 19, April 26, and May 7. With 14 constituencies, Assam is ranked 14th among states with the most Lok Sabha seats. Of these, eleven are open, while two are set aside for Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST). In Assam, polls are scheduled for April 19, April 26, and May 7. At fourteen constituencies, Assam comes in at number fourteen on the list of states with the most Lok Sabha seats. Two seats are set aside for Scheduled Tribes (ST) and one for Scheduled Castes (SC), leaving 11 seats open.

Number of Seats2
Gazette NotificationMarch 27 , March 28 & April 19
Last Date to Submit NominationMarch 27 , March 28 & April 19
Last Date of WithdrawalMarch 30 , April 8 & April 22
Election DateApril 19 , April 26 & May 7
Result DeclarationJune 4

Election History

BJP's Queen Ojha won in the Guwahati constituency in 2019. Apart from Queen Ojha, Bobbeeta Sharma of INC was the front-runner. Another important contender in the election was Manash Borah, who was fielded by the Asom Gana Parishad. Borah tried to take advantage of the AGP's sway over particular groups of people in order to get support because of his local clout and the party's attractiveness in the area. Guwahati's election saw intense campaigning and engaged voters, with the political conversation dominated by themes like infrastructure, immigration, development, and identity politics. To engage people and gain their support, candidates from both parties ran door-to-door campaigns, held public rallies, and implemented significant outreach initiatives.

Political Parties Competing in the 2024 Elections

  • The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) : The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is associated with right-wing politics and shares strong ideological and organisational ties with the volunteer paramilitary Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).Hindu nationalism, or Hindutva, is the philosophy that guides its policies. It is the largest political party in the nation as of January 2024, with the most representatives in both the state legislatures and the Indian Parliament. Under the current Prime Minister Narendra Modi, it has ruled India's political landscape since 2014.
  • Indian National Congress (INC) : The Indian National Congress (INC), also known as the Congress Party or just the Congress, is a well-established political organisation throughout the majority of India's provinces. It was the first modern nationalist movement to arise in Asia and Africa under the British Empire, having been founded in 1885. From the late 19th century, and particularly after 1920, the Congress emerged as the main force behind the Indian independence movement, led by Mahatma Gandhi.
  • Asom Gana Parishad : A political party in the Indian state of Assam is called Asom Gana Parishad, or Assam People's Council, or AGP. Following the momentous Assam Accord of 1985, the AGP was officially created at the Golaghat Convention, which took place in Golaghat on October 13 and 14, 1985. It was during this convention that Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, the state's youngest chief minister, was elected. The AGP has had two periods of government: from 1996 to 2001 and from 1985 to 1989.
  • United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) : Assam is the birthplace of the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL). The party's main office is located in Kokrajhar Town. Under Pramod Boro's leadership, the party took part in the 2020 Bodoland Territorial Council Election with vigour. Urkhao Gwra Brahma, a former MP, led the party earlier.
  • Assam Jaitya Parishad (AJP) : The state political party in Assam, is called Assam Jaitya Parishad (AJP). The All Assam Students Union (AASU) and the Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad (AJYCP), two Assamese student organisations, founded it in September 2020. Lurinjyoti Gogoi, the first president of the Assam Jaitya Parishad, was the general secretary of the All Assam Students Union. "Ship" is the party symbol assigned by the Indian Election Commission.
  • All India Trinamool Congress : Mainly influential in the state of West Bengal, the All India Trinamool Congress (also known as the All India Grassroots Congress, or AITC) is a political party in India.It was established on January 1, 1998, by Mamata Banerjee as a breakaway section from the Indian National Congress. Under her direction, the group quickly gained notoriety in West Bengal politics. In addition to being the third-largest party in India in terms of MPs, right after the BJP and INC, it currently rules the state of West Bengal.
  • The All India United Democratic Front : In the Indian state of Assam, there exists a political party called the All India United Democratic Front, which is also referred to as Sarva Bharatiya Sanyukt Ganatantric Morcha. In the Assam Legislative Assembly, it is the third-largest political party behind the BJP and INC.
  • Aam Aadmi Party : Indian political party of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Arvind Kejriwal and his associates created it on November 26, 2012, in response to the 2011 Indian anti-corruption protest against the Indian National Congress government.
  • The Communist Party of India (CPI) : In India, the oldest communist party is the Communist Party of India (CPI). On December 26, 1925, the CPI was established in what is now Kanpur.At the now, it has two representatives in the Rajya Sabha and two in the Lok Sabha. Along with one MLC in Bihar, it also has 22 MLAs spread across four states. In Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Manipur, it currently holds the ECI status of a state party.
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) : A communist political party in India is called the Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI(M). As far as membership and electoral seats go, it is the biggest communist party in India and one of the country's national parties. After breaking away from the CPI in 1964, the party was established and soon took the lead.
  • All Party Hill Leaders Conference (APHLC) : In the Indian states of Meghalaya and Assam, there exists a political party called the All Party Hill Leaders Conference (APHLC). Mr. Williamson A. Sangma was the party's founding president.
  Parliamentary Constituencies in Assam  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
3Autonomous District10Nawgong

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.