Track Your Constituency

Pondicherry General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Pondicherry General Election Results

Map of Pondicherry Parliamentary Constituencies

Pondicherry Parliamentary Constituencies
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Pondicherry. Disclaimer

Pondicherry Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Puducherry or formerly Pondicherry is a Union Territory of India. It comprises of four disconnected enclaves; Karaikal, Pondicherry, Mahe and Yanam. While the first two are in Tamil Nadu, Mahe and Yanam are in Kerala and Andhra Pradesh respectively. These four enclaves were French colonies and became a part of India in 1954. Puducherry was granted the status of a Union Territory on 1 July 1963.

As a clause included in the Treaty of Cession of 1956, the Union Territory of Puducherry reserves the right to make specific laws in respect to certain matters. Any such legislation may however, require ratification by the Union Government.

Member Representation at the Centre

In general election 2019 Puducherry has only one Lok Sabha constituency. As per the election update, this state sends only one member to the Rajya Sabha. Apart from Delhi, Puducherry is the only UT to have a legislature of its own. The state legislature is unicameral with 30 elected and three nominated members.

Political Parties

The important national-level parties present in Puducherry Lok Sabha elections are:
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata party (BJP)
  • Regional parties play a key role in the electoral politics of Puducherry. Some of them are:
  • All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)
  • Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)
  • All India N R Congress (AINRC)
  • Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK)
  • Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK)

Election History

In Puducherry, INC has formed the government for the maximum number of times. It won the 1st and 2nd assembly elections and was in power from 1963 to 1968. In the third assembly elections held in 1969, DMK came to power and retained it till 1974. From 1974 to 78, the UT did not have a stable government. AIADMK won majority in the fourth assembly elections, but its government could not last even for a month. AIADMK came back to power in the fifth elections, but its tenure was short-lived. Since 1980, DMK has been in power on three occasions, 1980-1983, 1990-1991 and 1996-2000. The INC made a comeback in 1985 elections and went on to win the 9th, 11th and 12th assembly elections and was in power 2000-2001 during the life of the 10th assembly. In elections to the 13th assembly held in 2011, All India N R Congress (AINRC), a newly formed political party captured power and is still ruling the territory.

Puducherry was also under President's rule on six occasions.

In elections to the Lok Sabha, INC is the most dominant party. It has won the lone parliamentary seat of the Union Territory nine times. It won the seat in the 4th, 5th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 13th and 15th Lok Sabha elections. AIADMK, DMK and PMK have won it once each in the 6th, 12th and 14th Lok Sabha polls, respectively.

Prominent Political Personalities

The 2014 Lok Sabha elections saw keen contest between AIADMK, DMK, PMK and INC for the Puducherry constituency. Some important political candidates were :
  • V Omalingam : He was a AIADMK candidate from Puducherry. He is also a former MLA. He lost to P R N Thirumurugan of the INC in the 2011 Puducherry assembly elections.

  • A M H Nazim : He was the DMK candidate from Puducherry. He is the sitting MLA in Puducherry assembly from the Karaikal South constituency.

  • R K R Anantharaman : He is a former MLA and was the PMK candidate from Puducherry constituency.
In 2019, contestants who are ready to undertake the battle in Lok Sabha elections in Puducherry are:
  • Vaithilingam: Indian National Congress (INC)

  • K.Narayanasamy: All India N.R Congress (AINRC)
  • M.A.S. Subramanian: Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM)
  • B. Cowri: Naam Tamilar Katchi
  • K. Ravisankar: Puducherry Development Party
  • S. Sridhar: Tamizhaga Vaazhvurumai Katchi

Famous Leaders

Some important political figures who have dominated the politics of Puducherry are:
  • Edouard Goubert :  He was the first Chief Minister of Puducherry. Initially, a pro-French politician, he later supported the INC that played a key role in aiding Puducherry's merger with India. He is also the co-founder of the French India Socialist Party.

  • V Venkatasubha Reddiar Nettapacom : He was an important political leader of Puducherry and was one of the chief architects behind Puducherry's merger with India. He was the first Indian Chief Minister of Puducherry.

  • M O H Farook Calapeth :He is an important politician who has served thrice as the Chief Minister of Puducherry. He was the Lok Sabha member from Puducherry in the 10th, 11th and 13th Lok Sabha. He was also a former Governor to Jharkhand and Kerala.

  • M D R Ramachandran Mannadipet :He is a prominent leader of the DMK and was the 8th and 10th Chief Minister of Puducherry. He was also the Speaker of Puducherry state assembly from 2001 to 2006.

  • V Vaithilingam : He is an important politician of the INC and has been elected to the state assembly six times. He served twice as the Chief Minister of Puducherry from 1991 to 1996 and again from 2008 to 2011. Till date, he is the only Chief Minister of Puducherry to complete five years in office.

  • P Shanmugham Yanam :He was a former Chief Minister of Puducherry and represented the UT in the 7th, 8th and 9th Lok Sabha. He was also the leader of the Opposition when DMK was in power. He is credited for improving the infrastructure of the UT.

  • N Rangaswamy Kadirkamam : He is the leader of the AINRC and the current Chief Minister of the state. He also served as the Chief Minister of the state from 2001 to 2008 as a politician of the INC. He represents the Thattanchavady constituency in the state legislature.

Visit to get the latest Puducherry election updates, Puducherry elections 2019, Puducherry lok sabha seats 2019, Puducherry general elections news update and many more.

  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs :1
No. of Polling Days :1
Polling Dates :18 April,2019 (Phase 2)
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate :Rs. 54 lakhs

Pondicherry Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1PuducherryGENV. NarayanasamyMINC300391

Assembly Constituencies in Pondicherry Parliamentary Constituency
MannadipetLawspetEmbalam (SC)
Thirubuvanai (SC)KalapetNettpakkam (SC)
Oussudu (SC)MuthialpetBahour
MangalamRaj BhavanNedungadu (SC)
OzhukaraiOrleanpethKaraikal North
KadirgamamNellithopeKaraikal South
Indira NagarMudaliarpetNeravyT.R. Pattinam
Kamaraj NagarManavelyYanam

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.