Climate of Jalandhar

The climate of Jalandhar is characterized by hot and dry summers and wet and humid monsoons. Geographically located between 71 31' East latitude and 30 33' North Latitude, Jalandhar distinctly experiences all the four seasons.

The summer season of Jalandhar begins from the middle of March and ends in the month of June. During the summer season, Jalandhar experiences a very dry weather accompanied with hot winds, commonly referred to as the loo. The relative humidity of the air during the summer is very low in Jalandhar. Men and women cover their head with scurf to save themselves from scorching heat.

The monsoon season starts from the end of June and remains for the full month of July and August till the middle of September. The annual average rainfall recorded during the monsoon season is 703.0 mm. The relative humidity of air increases during the monsoon season. The overcast skies and heavy spells of rain during the rainy season lower the temperature of Jalandhar.

Jalandhar experiences post-monsoon season from the middle of September to the middle of November. During this period, the temperature of Jalandhar remains comparatively low. The winter season in Jalandhar begins from the middle of November and remains till mid-March. The city often experiences very low temperatures. Cold waves blow over Jalandhar during the winter season. The maximum diurnal temperature dips down to 19C while the minimum diurnal temperature remains around 6 C for most part of the winter season.

The dry and hot climatic of Jalandhar is suitable to grow several important agricultural crops of wheat and sugarcane that has strengthened the economic base of the region.

Last Updated on 17th Dec 2012



Which Indian state is the largest producer of bauxite?The state of Odisha is the largest producer of bauxite in India. India has abundant resources of bauxite and serves as a raw material in the production of aluminium. As per the report of the Ministry of Mines, India stood at the 7th position in… Read More...
Which Indian city is famously known as the "Manchester City of India"?The city of Ahmedabad in the Gujarat state is famously known as the "Manchester City of India". This name was given to this city by a popular textile center in the Manchester of Great Britain, adhering to the striking similarities of Ahmedabad's prospering cotton textile… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations