The eastern state of West Bengal experiences a tropical type of climate due to its geographical location. The state has diversity in physiography as it touches the Himalayas in the north and is bordered by the Bay of Bengal in south. The northern districts remain cold through out the year and for that reason, the hill stations are favored by the tourists especially during the summer months.

The climate of West Bengal is full of variation. The seasons in West Bengal can be broadly categorized into summer, winter, autumn and rainy seasons. The summer months in West Bengal span from mid of March to mid of June. During this time, the average temperature is 38 degree to 45 degree. The low-pressure areas formed on the plains due to high temperature causes nor-westers. This brings a sudden drop in the temperature.

The monsoon season in West Bengal is much awaited as the landscape turns lush green after the monsoon showers. By the middle of June, monsoon approaches the state and it is influenced by the winds blowing from Bay of Bengal. The autumn season in West Bengal is welcomed with a number of festive occasions. From September the festive mood commences and it is during this cool and pleasant climate, the festival of Durga Puja is celebrated in West Bengal.

During the winter season, the weather of West Bengal remains very pleasant. The state experiences a mild cold climate while the temperature drops very low in the hilly region of West Bengal. From about mid November, winter approaches West Bengal and temperature rises not before the middle of February. The temperature varies around 15 degree in these cold months.

Last Updated on 21 March 2013



Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...
Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations