Sikkim Climate

Apart from the picturesque locales, the climate of Sikkim also serves to be another major enticement for the tourists who descend from all across the globe to witness its scenic beauty. Ambiguities with regards to the prevailing climate always exists as the weather that predominates in the northern fraction of the state is entirely different from the conditions that are experienced in the southern extremities.

The climate of Sikkim can be categorized as tundra-type in the northern parts whereas the inhabitants residing in the southern wing of the state have to put up with sub-tropical type of weather. An astonishing fact is that the climate in the densely populated regions of Sikkim are of the temperate type.

The average temperature that very rarely crosses the 28 degree Centigrade or 82 degree Fahrenheit mark during the months of the summer season. Whereas, the winter season sends a spine-schilling shiver down the spines of its occupants as astoundingly low temperatures below 0 degree Celsius are recorded which is equivalent to 32 degree Fahrenheit.

The bunch of seasons that characterize the climate in Sikkim are spring, summer, winter, monsoon and autumn. The climate at Sikkim is such that the rainy season extends from the month of June to September. As a matter of fact, Sikkim is perhaps one of the very few states to be blessed with consistent events of mesmerizing snowfalls. Owing to this fact, an absolutely astonishing 6000 meters of snow line has been recorded there.

However, one jeopardy that the inhabitants have to live with due to the Sikkim climate are the frequent landslides which are an aftermath of the occasional torrential downpour that the state has to withstand. Temperatures as low as -40 degree Centigrade have also been measured in the northern areas. Fog also poses a lot of hazards in the way of proper transportation.

Last Updated on : 7 March 2013